We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to downtown Bar Harbor and the park”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient to downtown Bar Harbor and the park”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Bar Harbor Motel is close to downtown Bar Harbor; it would be a bit of a hike by foot, but is just a few minutes by car. It's also close to one of the park entrances, and (bonus) one of the park's paved bike trails is easily accessible by foot, via a short trail-walk in the woods behind the motel.

Service was good while we stayed. We had a two-bedroom unit, which was extremely convenient. It was quiet when we stayed (the weekend before July 4th).

Their outdoor pool is nice, with motel towels at pool side.

Although they serve a complimentary breakfast, I'm diabetic and their selections were not good for me, so we didn't avail ourselves of that. It did look like a nice breakfast, though, if carb-heavy meals are something you can tolerate.

We'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you, Steve. We apologize that we weren't able to satisfy your dietary needs at our breakfast. After doing some research about diabetes and good food choices I believe we might be able to make some changes that would help. We do offer, every day, fresh fruit (usually apples, bananas, and oranges), and one whole grain cereal (rice chex). I'll do some research with our food distributor and find out if we can offer a whole grain muffin and bagel in the future, or possibly even some cottage cheese choices. Thanks for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    475
    58
    10
    0
See reviews for
714
537
37
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coopersburg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights this past week. We found this motel extremely clean and extremely quiet. The front desk was very friendly and helpful with must see places and great restaurants. Breakfast was fresh and kept very clean. Location is perfect too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineB6509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you Elaine, for the nice review. We take pride in the appearance of our motel both inside and out. When I pass along your praise to our staff they will be most pleased that their hard work is being noticed. Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We found the location of the Bar Harbour Motel to be excellent, just a short drive to the Village of Bar Harbour but out of the hectic traffic and crowds. You can also drive into Acadia National Park without going through the traffic of the village, and there is a trail off the back of the motel property that directly connects with the carriage road system in the Park. There's a fine steakhouse right next door (no drive needed) with good local beers on tap and great steak specials when we were there (Jack Russell Steakhouse and Brewery). The rooms were spacious and comfortable, you park right in front of your room. There's a light breakfast and a laundry (great for long trips). Most of all the service was super, from the desk staff right up to the manager, Jack, who helped us solve a wifi issue. We highly recommend the Bar Harbor Inn!

Room Tip: We were hear the office and road but still had no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Truly, I wanted to thank you and your husband for the gracious words and nice review. Your patience and good humor will always be remembered and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Motel last week and enjoyed it very much. The package deal inluded room, a boat nature tour, and dinner at the Bar Harbor Inn was an excellent deal. The facilities were very clean and the area very quiet. Just park the car and take the shuttle which stops right outside the motel. That in itself is worth the price of a room. The staff was also very friendly and accommodating with dinner/restaurant suggestions. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you, Victoria. I'm glad you mentioned the packages we offer. They are a good deal with a dinner at one of the premier restaurants in town (The Reading Room) and an ocean nature cruise or a sail on the Margaret Todd (a four-masted schooner). Booking the package saves you about 15% on the room, dinner, and cruise were you to purchase them separately. Glad you had an enjoyable time. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Motel the end of June 2013. The room, bathroom, and grounds were very clean and quiet. We enjoyed the breakfast which was well done with yogurt, fruit, cereals and bagels. The staff was very helpful when we needed them for anything. The carpet and decor was not up to date, but it was clean and comfortable. Great place. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay towards to back so it is quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Blinc2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We're pleased that you were pleased. Under the new ownership we have redone all our King rooms, replaced most of our televisions with flat screens, refurbished many of the bathrooms, and upgraded our breakfast. But as you noted we still have work to do and we are committed to doing it. In the meantime we'll keep the rooms and grounds, as you noted, clean and comfortable. Thanks again for choosing us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My family of five stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June 2013. We stayed in a 2 br family unit that was at the far edge of the property. It was clean and quiet. Housekeeping was responsive to our request for extra towels. The continental breakfast was reasonable- muffins, cereal, bagels, English muffins, fruit, yogurt, coffee, juice and milk. It got very crowded in the lobby dining area for breakfast. The pool was clean and located toward the front of the property and had a playground next to it. Both entertained my kids. The motel is conveniently located close to the village of barharbor and the entrance to the national park which was very convenient. Also had free wifi in the rooms but it was super slow. Overall, we had a good trip. This place is a great value for its price and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the property are quieter but not as conveniently located to the lobby for break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vamama853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was our second visit to Bar Harbor and second time staying at Bar Harbor Motel. The location is very quiet and wooded. Parking is right outside the door. The guest rooms are very spacious and the mini fridge was great allowing for our beverages and snacks. Continental breakfast was great for a quick start to our day. The staff was neat and very courteous. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MNP0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing