We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Found this place by searching on the internet; went prior to opening of season; we were traveling with son & daughter-in-law; motel was very nice, clean, & conveniently located. We each had a two bedroom unit, with full bath, and microwave & fridge. (My husband snores so it was a great find for me.) Very good "bang for your buck". Surrounded by the forest of Acadia National Park. Staff was very helpful & attentive. Will definitely stay here again if I am in Bar Harbor..

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, ask for the two room suite. and if you want something quiet, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this motel in mid October. The room was very nice and clean and had a lot of room. The staff were very helpful and considerate. It was conveniently located to the entrance to Acadia National Park and to downtown Bar Harbor. I will definitely stay here again if I ever get back to Maine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STStimetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We are excited about our new season at the Bar Harbor Motel. We are busily making preparations to receive our guests this season. We have also been working to address many of the concerns mentioned in previous reviews.

Last season we added a complimentary continental breakfast to the list of amenities offered at the Motel. We recognized from guest comments that we needed to make some improvements to the area where this is served. We have added more tables and chairs as well as improving the layout of the room.

Perhaps most importantly, we are pleased to welcome our new General Manager, Jack Speight, who comes to us with over 30 years of experience in Bar Harbor hotel management. Jack understands that your Bar Harbor experience starts with a clean, comfortable room in an environment that makes you feel safe, wanted, and valued.

For those that are considering staying with us for the first time, our property offers families a unique Bar Harbor accommodation with over 15 acres of landscaped grounds and direct access to Acadia National Park hiking and biking trails. Our small buildings dotting the property offer guests an intimacy and quietness not found in other more traditional style hotels.
We look forward to seeing you at the Bar Harbor Motel this season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in June 2012. We had our 2 children ages 5 and 8 with us as well. We found our room to be very clean every day. I had no complaints with the cleaniness. The staff seemed friendly enough. If we had a question the staff would answer it. I am also not one of those people that feel that the staff need to suck up to me at every moment I am in their sight. We honestly did not have much interaction with staff as we were out doing things all the time. It was quite nice having the room with the 2 seperate sleeping spaces. The kids liked having their own beds and they could wind down at night and watch some cartoons and we had our space to wind down and watch what we wanted. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jen60785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Clean and comfortable. I liked the separate buildings, and the relative privacy. The breakfast was just Okay, but the value was good for the price. There is a Brewpub next door for dinner, and downtown is a short drive away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were looking for a clean hotel close to the park that wouldn't cost us an arm and a leg - the Bar Harbor Motel was great! Not too expensive but with really nice amenities - the beds were great, the room was clean. The only trouble I had in the room was the sketchy wifi service. And the only complaint I had about the hotel was the breakfast. I don't mind frozen waffles but they were so big, you had to break them up to heat them and that took too long with everyone else in line waiting for the toasters. But really, I DO recommend the motel and enjoyed chatting with the couple managing the place. I would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marfishbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were a little nervous after reading some of the negative reviews, but we found this motel clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room (which was a king size room) was a little tight, but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The free breakfast was a little too crowded for us. We went on the first day and then went out for breakfast for the rest of our stay--the room was much too small for all the people trying to get the free breakfast. The back of the motel lead to a nature trail which lead to one of the carriage trails in Acadia--we were very excited about that. It is a great location, convenient to the town and also to the park. We were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lathamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here to visit Acadia National Park. We didn't spend alot of time in the room. It was adequate, decent breakfast, fridge had leftover water in it and smelled, and bathroom was tiny. But we were able to hike straight from the property into Acadia and on the way, saw a couple of deer. Grounds are nice and seemed like a nice pool although it was too cold to go outside. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpbraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
1.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $118 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing