We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immaculately clean family accommodations!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Immaculately clean family accommodations!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom family unit with our 20 year old children and it was perfect! It is family run and there was always a cheery face to answer any questions. So much to do in this area that we will have to go back. It is only about a mile from Bar Harbor and along a free bus route. We rented bikes in Bar Harbor one day and rode the carriage trails. Another day we hiked Precipice trail. Both fantastic days. Hanniford grocery store was close for breakfast supplies and refreshments since we had a frig in the room. Little Notch Bakery had the best sandwiches and cookies for packing a picnic while hiking. It opens at 7:30 am. Beautiful vacation spot! Also liked the laundry facilities!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageurfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    471
    58
    10
    0
See reviews for
697
525
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentwood, Louisiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

A friend and I recently traveled to Bar Harbor on a father/son vacation. We had four boys for a total of six. The two bedroom family unit was perfect. This is an older 50's style motel that is very well kept. The rooms were very clean. The area is quiet and peaceful and only minutes from all the action. The staff was helpful when needed and everyone was very nice. It also should be noted that the coffee offered free in the lobby is one of the best I've had in all of my travels. This motel is a good value close to BH. If you're there for romance, stay in one of Bar Harbor's beautiful B&B's. For family trips and all other occasions stay at Bar Harbor Motel

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We just returned from a very nice trip to Bar Harbor and the Acadia NationalPark.
The motel is conveniently located, a short drive from the town center. The free shuttle bus stops right in front of the motel. Although on a busy road, the motel grounds offer a quiet relaxing ambience. Each room has a parking spot right in front of it - I found that very convenient. The swimming pool is heated, which is nice.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The reception area has tea, coffee and hot chocolate all day. The coffee was simply Excellent - easily the best feature of the motel !

The rooms are fairly basic. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom units which is advertised as being suitable for up to 4 adults and 2 children ( the size of our group) . I have to say it was rather crowded and the 1 bathroom was difficult for so many of us. If you have 4 adults, I suggest getting 2 rooms for sure. The other negative is the fact that there is no restaurant in the motel, so you have to have all your meals outside.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacation-wallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this motel in mid-May and it was a nice experience. The front desk staff (possibly the owners?) were very sweet and there were an abundance of brochures for everything in the area from attractions and restaurant menus to maps. The rooms are separate buildings consisting of about 4 rooms and the lobby of the hotel was down a little road. There was coffee and juice in the morning in the lobby. Although we weren't able to actually use this trail (ran out of time), there is a pathway at the end of the motel road that leads a bit into Acadia. The rooms were a bit outdated; however, they were very clean. For the price, it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Everything you see on the webpage video is very accurate. This motel is located perfectly 1 mile walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor. There is also sidewalk leading into town so you don't walk along the street. The hotel is right next to the edge of Acadia National Park and is a quiet, wooded setting. We were traveling without kids so we asked for the last building in the back which has the lovely patio with tables and chairs as pictured in the website video. I have never stayed in such a clean and pleasant motel. The rooms are fresh and comfortable because of the no pets, no smoking, no cooking policy. The little refridgerator worked well for our small food supplies. I loved walking out to the patio from the sliding glass door in our room. Each day the room was thoroughly cleaned. They are so clean they even wiped down the outside patio furniture daily! The air conditioner unit was a bit noisy, but with the temps not being too hot in Maine, we didn't have to use it much. They are so accommodating that I am sure they would have let us switch rooms if we had asked, but like I said it was not a big deal. I would recommend this motel for anyone who likes peace, calm, and clean. It was perfect to return to our room after hiking in the park and shopping downtown. The swimming pool was also very clean and enjoyable to use. We were so "blue" when the day came to return home. We stayed 5 days total and we can't wait to get back up to Bar Harbor and stay at the Bar Harbor Motel again when we do make it back.

Room Tip: Book early and let the know if you want to be close to the pool, or far away in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeacherAtVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This place was great. We are a family of 6 (four children under 9) and finding accommodations to fit all of us without having to buy two rooms or stay in an expensive townhouse or rental was difficult. Most places required we buy 2 rooms or only allowed 4 in their family suites. This was perfect. One room with a king bed and one room with two queens, bathroom between. The price was great at less than 200 a night (for 6 people!!!). The rooms were very clean and as a bonus there was a laundry room in the complex. Not that I do laundry on vacation but it was during the heat wave and we changed clothes a few times a day and I am so glad the laundry was available. The pool and playground were a nice addition as well as the bike locker for all the bikes. Overall it was great and we will stay there again when we go back to acadia.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtberNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

A very nice surprise in Bar Harbor...I would recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narjissette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing