We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$164
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Acadia Park Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$159
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$179
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primrose Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Street Hotel(Bar Harbor)
$279
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
314
165
26
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
165
26
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrenchman's baycontinental breakfastpet friendly restaurantsfree shuttlebagelsacadia national parksaw deertop floorhard boiled eggspet feetwo sinkscorner roomfree islanddrive into townnice poolwould definitely stay here againexplorer bus
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 515 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

NOTHING TO ADD TO GREAT REVIEWS.
I was anxious when our car turned into small street before entering Bar Harbor, but it led uphill, and hotel is on the top of it. View is great from the balcony. Room was recently renovated. 307 was the number, and it looked like the tub was recently replaced. Clean, clean.... I stayed Memorial weekend, and did not try a pool. BIG MISTAKE!!! Touched a water om the departure day, it was WARM (not only for pinguins). Breakfast: fresh muffins, hard boiled eggs, toasts. Five deers were making an appearance now and then. THANK YOU, ATLANTIC EYRIE...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tavribruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Your review made me smile! We do try to keep the pool warm but not too warm as most guests prefer it a little on the cool side as they are usually doing laps, etc. and if the air is warm it is refreshing. Last time I checked there weren't any penguins, like you said, several deer (and the occasional fox with kits) Happy you continued on up the road to our little hilltop overlooking the area and had a nice stay with us on Memorial Day weekend. I hope you get a chance to come back again. Thank you for the review~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family of four stayed in a third floor room. Spacious, clean room with comfortable beds. Good breakfast and nice pool. Amazing views. Close to downtown and to the park. There are so many choices in Bar Harbor. I'm glad we chose this one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ILoveFerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello,
Yes, you are correct, Bar Harbor has a lot of choices for hotel rooms, from outrageously expensive to inexpensive. We are happy our amenities (view, salt water pool, breakfast,rooms, beds, etc.) were pleasing to you and your family. I hope you got to explore the island and walk around Bar Harbor while you were vacationing. It is such a fabulous spot, we are lucky to live here. Thank you so much for the great review! Have a nice rest of the summer. ~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have been going to Bar Harbor for many, many years this is the cleanest, most roomy, comfortable , pet friendly motel we have found.They offer a small complementary breakfast as well.The price and location are excellent. Even though we ran into a problem this year with the hurricane , and they didn't do anything to assist us we will stay there again. Our pets were truly comfortable too.

Room Tip: The first floor is the best choice, if there ever is a power outage you will have easy access to your room and not have to walk up stairs, because the elevator would be out of service. All the rooms are clean and smell fresh, no mildew odor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilene g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello,
We are happy you had a great visit with your pet. Nice to hear positive things about our hotel rooms. Most of us are dog and cat owners here at the hotel so we know the difficulty in finding a clean, nicely appointed hotel room. We are sorry the power went out across Bar Harbor, it was very inconvenient and annoying. This is not a common occurrence and our staff did the best they could under the circumstances. We were disappointed that the power turn on kept being changes and that made it difficult for us to be accurate with that information as it was updated incorrectly by the power company. Glad to hear that doesn't stop you from staying again. Thanks very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I came to Bar Harbor for her birthday weekend and stayed at the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge. The views here are absolutely amazing, words can't begin to explain. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable. The rooms here are spacious and very comfortable. We were minutes away from all the restaurants, shops, and hiking trails. I highly recommend staying here to any one visiting Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: I recommend getting a room on the top floor. The view is absolutely amazing.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chippewawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post that positive review about our customer service as well as our hotel! We really appreciate it. Hope you get a chance to visit us again. My favorite time is the autumn with the leaves turning spectacular colors. With all the deciduous trees on the island it truly is magical. Take care and thanks again, Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Sadly, our return to the Atlantic Eyrie was not a favorable one. Due to a power outage, we experienced no electricity, no hot water, no services and above all no information from the staff who were as clueless as we were. A generator was placed right outside our hotel room on the ground floor to provide lights to the main office. We repeatedly requested that the generator be moved so the fumes would not invade the room. Our requests were ignored. Their solution was to offer to move us to the room next door to the one we were in. ( 2 steps away) As a result 3 of my children and my husband experienced nausea and headaches and we were forced to leave. The personel at the desk did not deem it necessary to contact the manager who left the property. Someone should inform the management of the property that generators need to be placed at least 10 feet from a building to satisfy code regulations. While our money was refunded for the day we left, we will NEVER return to the Atlantic Eyrie. Beautiful views, but sadly lacking in customer service and satisfaction.

Room Tip: Certainly, do not choose a ground level room. Anything goes wrong and you will be impacted.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooklyn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

We are very sorry we were unable make your return visit a happy one, due to the power outage, which was around 14-15 frustrating, inconvenient hours for over 20,000 customers in the area. Your visit with your pet limits your stay to the lower level, as you are aware, as that is our pet friendly area. It is easier when you need to walk the dogs on the property to walk out your door easily. The only other room available was another pet friendly room. Since you were traveling with a dog, it does limit the rooms available to you. Unfortunately, the placement of the generator, which was closer to the manager’s office door and window, was the best we could do under the circumstances to have it reach the office. It was a well-ventilated area and I am so sorry for your difficulty; that certainly was not what we like to hear. After your comments, we did measure the distance on the generator, which was just over ten feet. The generator actually came from the manager’s home and he brought it in to provide hot water for beverages for our guests. We are glad you were able to enjoy a few cups of hot tea during the outage. Our manager (who was there from 11 pm on the 4th until 4 pm when he went home the following day to get some sleep) was unfortunately unable to be reached due to power outages to land lines as well as cell service. When he left he did make sure that he had done what he could. Obviously, things can happen. As far as we know, there was only one other hotel with a generator in the area and we did speak with them about what they were doing for their guests as we are friendly with their staff. Our hotel guests were happy we were able to provide some hot beverages in the midst of the power loss. We don’t have power issues as a rule in the summer so you are right, hotels (and businesses) in the area were caught totally off guard and unprepared. The other problem is the electric company kept giving later and later times for the power to be restored so we, too, were unable to give definitive times as they kept being changed which was difficult on everyone. This was hard on our staff as they were unable to tell the guests an exact time as the electric company kept adjusting it. I don’t think our staff was “clueless” just dealing with changing times of power turn on via the Bangor Hydro/Emera and trying their very best to keep our guests informed. Again, we are sorry for the time during the power outage that you were inconvenienced (thank you for noting the refund); we did try our best under the circumstances. Sometimes, events are beyond our control. Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews