We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Lodge”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, It was our not first choice, however, it was an excellent hotel. I booked late so there were only couple rooms left, the only one above the first floor was a suite. We booked the suite; the balcony’s overlooked Frenchmen’s Bay, which as it turned out was an excellent choice. From the moment we arrived the staff was friendly, welcoming, and helpful with tips on places to visit and restaurants also a map of the area and the town. The room included a full kitchen, large living room with floor to ceiling windows, a great view of the bay and free internet. There was a large king bed in the bedroom which was quite comfortable. The continental breakfast included cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, toast, french toast, fruit, eggs (hard boiled), muffins and pastries. Since I am primarily a cereal and muffin man the breakfast was good for me, my wife also enjoy the breakfast. We saw deer in the morning as they were eating the apples. The bus stopped at the lodge every half hour.

MJ

Room Tip: Higher floors for best views, suites are larger good for four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello,
We are happy that we could provide accommodations for you and your wife and it sounds like you enjoyed the view, suite and breakfast. Thank you for the "excellent" compliment. That is a very high compliment, indeed! We have been busy all winter doing improvements to the grounds, parking and exterior hallways. It's a much quieter place this time of year as you would expect. The snow and cold have been abundant! It makes for some amazing views of the mountains. Hope you are having a wonderful winter as well. Thank you for taking the time to post the very nice review. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    155
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
170
221
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a fourth floor room overlooking the Bay. A large, very comfortable clean room, great view, friendly staff, and a location within five minutes of town all made for a wonderful visit. They are closed from the third week of October until sometime in Spring. Only a short drive to the Acadia National Park entrance.

Room Tip: Third and fourth floors have a better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rarod13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for the review and thank you for mentioning our staff. We think we have a very knowledgeable and friendly staff who are quite happy to have a winter break after our busy season. I sincerely hope you stay with us if you visit the area again. Have a good winter. Thanks again, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had difficulty getting last-minute reservations for mid-October in Bar Harbor. Luckily there was a cancellation at the lodge so we reserved the available suite. From our first view of Frenchman's Bay from the lobby, we knew this was a great choice. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful with places to see and restaurant suggestions. The living room was large with a view of the bay. The kitchen, bedroom and bathroom was very nice with fluffy towels and comfortable beds. There were two patios to watch the colorful sunrises in the morning and deer wandering below in the evening. Breakfast had a nice selection of cereal, muffins and pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs. The bus service to town every half hour was an added bonus. I tried to come up with anything that would improve this hotel but couldn't think of even one.

Room Tip: Suite would be great for four people since it had a king-size bed and sofa bed. Kitchen is fully- eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello,
That was a very detailed and terrific review from an experience Trip Advisor reviewer, thank you. I'm so glad you enjoyed your suite. Its nice to have the extra room when traveling. Our regular guest rooms are quite large as well which is nice. The deer visiting is such a neat experience, it just might be that apple tree which seems to be a favorite place especially come fall. We are very glad that a difficult time finding a room turned into a great experience at The Eyrie. Thank you for the review and I hope you have a lovely winter. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great hotel in the Bar Harbor area with a great view, very comfortable beds, and free breakfast. Pet-friendly, with a single pet fee for the entire stay (not per day; September 2013). Conveniently located near an entrance to Acadia National Park. The front desk staff was very attentive. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room if traveling with a pet. Get a room elsewhere for the best view of Frenchman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargatecruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for mentioning our low pet fees. We just felt one fee is enough as we, too are pet owners and when we travel it is annoying to have to pay every single night for our dogs to stay with us. I hope you got to walk around the property and enjoy the grounds. We have been busy this off season changing things around quite a bit and doing some renovations to the outside hallways and parking lot. We try every year to do some renovations and hope you return again to the island and the Atlantic Eyrie. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was also our first trip to Bar Harbor and we could not have picked a better location for our 50th wedding anniversary. Although the bus comes to the front door, the town is very easy to navigate by car. The management was very professional and friendly, accommodations were excellent and the breakfast was perfect. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Book rooms overlooking harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello,
Belated congratulations on your golden wedding anniversary. Such a wonderful milestone and we are delighted you spent your time with us and had an "excellent" room and visit. It sounds like you went out and about and enjoyed the island. Good for you both. Hope to see you for your 51st wedding celebration! Sincerely, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Bar Harbor and we could not have had a better location. The rooms are large and comfortable, although a little outdated, but the view is spectacular. The free bus comes right to the door so you don't have to drive anywhere unless you want. The brerakfast was adequate, but it was served in a new, modern area. Would we stay here again? Yes!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat350Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I think anytime a guest says that will return that is exactly what we are striving for. Thank you for the lovely review. The shuttle is a very nice perk for businesses in our area and does help with the overcrowded downtown parking. One of the long time drivers is my brother in law and he says he meets some of the nicest vacationing families. Hope to see you again and also hope your winter is mild.
~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is fabulous!! The rooms are so large and comfortable. We were on the 4th floor and our view was amazing!! This is THE BEST place to stay! Don't pass it up. I hope that I can return some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for the enthusiastic review! Now that it is the offseason we get a chance to enjoy that view a bit more, although there is a bit of snow cover! However, even in the winter it is beautiful and there are a lot of winter sports. We sincerely appreciate the review and especially the comment about our large rooms which we think is an added bonus to our hotel. Take care, ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Property: Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing