We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect For Our 4 Night Acadia Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
pgh,pa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect For Our 4 Night Acadia Visit”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the Trip Advisor reviews. I was concerned because my wifes brother and his wife met us there and the choice was all on me. It could have not worked out any better. The rooms are large and very clean, and have a nice small balcony with a wonderful view where one can watch sunrise with a cup of coffee. There were the usual sundries in the bathroom and there was a separate sink outside of the bathroom. We found the breakfast to be very adequate for a hotel breakfast, always fresh and constantly resupplied. There was also coffee provided in the lobby all the time as well as the use of a computer if needed. The front desk staff were very friendly and very very helpful with eating tips and when to go where. The Island explorer bus stopped outside the front entrance and seemed to run frequently. We never had to us it as the hotel is minutes from the visitor center and entrance to Acadia and Bar Harbor. Im not sure if it was because we went mid September, but we experienced no parking issues in Bar Harbor especially if we went to town after 6PM. I definately would recommned this hotel to anyone visiting the area. One note, if you didnt book online and you have AAA, you must tell them upon check in or you will not get the discount

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbross50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello,
What a great review, it sounds like your family was pleased with your choice as well. It is always difficult to choose accommodations but I've found that trip advisor is a great source for real ratings and suggestions. I will pass on the positive comments about the breakfast as well. Thank you and happy holidays. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    152
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
165
217
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a tired older 1986 hotel with a staff at the front that is much like the sales staff at time share sales high pressure! The view is great but you do not sleep in the view. The rooms are tired just like the whole hotel! The walls are so thin that you can here you fellow traveler next door cough at least I hope it was a cough. Unless you are heavily medicated you will not get a good nights sleep with doors slamming and people conducting a motocross overhead!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BILLYWAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello,
So very sorry you were disappointed in our hotel. We have worked hard to put in a new pool, redo the grounds and are still doing more as we speak to renovate and improve the exterior, parking and exterior hallways. I hope you enjoyed you got to enjoy our island even if you didn't enjoy your stay. Sincerely, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Located high on hill above the town of Bar Harbor, most rooms provide great ocean view from the attached balconies. It is a fairly new property built using mid-level materials (synthetic marble, etc.) in good condition with spacious, clean rooms. Staff are very helpful. The included continental breakfast offers cereals, bagels, English muffins, toast, hard boiled eggs, coffee and juice...but no scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, etc such as found in major chain hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the hotel. We do appreciate it. I'm sorry you found the complimentary breakfast lacking. We try our best to provide a good continental style breakfast. I will definitely mention this to the manager and hopefully if you return we will have some of the other items you prefer. Sincerely, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
281 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was not long enough to enjoy this wonderful lodge. I had a five-star view from my room, and the room itself was comfortable, clean, and spacious.

The newly renovated pool and grounds are lovely and the renovated rooms were done well. Staff are quite cordial, and the breakfast room is nice with indoor or outdoor seating. While it is a continental breakfast, there is a good selection of foods to fill you!

Give this place a try. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello!
Thank you so much for the enthusiastic review! So glad you enjoyed the view as well as the facilities! We have been improving even more since we closed in October. Take care and hope you visit us again. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at this Lodge for our 40th wedding anniversary weekend. I let them know ahead of time it was our anniversary and when we arrived in the room, there was a bottle of champagne and a note congratulating us on our anniversary - very nice touch! The staff is extremely friendly, the room was clean, the view over Frenchman Bay is very nice too. They have a shuttle bus that runs into Bar Harbor and then you can catch another shuttle to different locations around town including the loop around Acadia National Park. Would definitely recommend. Would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Bar Harbor close enough but far enough away. I usually look through Tripadvisor before I book anywhere and this was right on the mark!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite on the fourth floor but every room has a view of the bay. The higher you go o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGrahamsScituateRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It sounds like you had a fabulous 40th wedding mini vacation. Congratulations on that milestone. Thank you also for the lovely compliment about our staff as well. We are glad that you enjoyed the champagne. Take care and have a great rest of the fall. Sincerely, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We just got back from an eight night stay and just love this place. It was our third year to stay here and already have reservations for next year.The room is very clean, the view from the top floor is the best. Very convenient to walk to town or take the Island Explorer bus right at the front door. Steve, who manages the breakfast room is just wonderful. We saw deer in the yard most days.
Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onereal2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello,
Reviews like yours from a repeat, happy guest are so nice to read. You obviously have seen the improvements over the years that we keep making which is different for a first time guest. We keep striving to better the hotel. It's nice to hear Steve get such nice praise from several reviewers. He takes pride in his work and does a great job. We are fortunate to have him working with us. See you next season. Take care and thanks again, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were very pleased with our recent stay at the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge. We choose it based on its convenient location, views, and good reviews; and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean, and the housekeeping staff actually let us re-use our towels. So many hotels put up signs asking you to re-use towels, but most change them daily, anyway.
It would be nice to have a safe in the room, but there were other conveniences, such as the refrigerator, and the front desk had wine glasses that we could use. Although we did not use the Island Explorer bus, many guests did, and it comes right to the front door, It was very easy to get to town or to Acadia NP. The front desk staff was very helpful, too, and "The Muffin Man" takes a lot of pride in the continental breakfast; lots of choices and very clean. We had originally booked at the Best Western Acadia, but changed when we realized the Atlantic Eyrie was so much closer to town. Definitely the right decision, as the Best Western is several miles outside Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Nice views from the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello, We are very glad you changed your reservation to spend your vacation at the Eyrie. I will absolutely pass on the Muffin Man comment which was great. Nice suggestion on the safe. We have thought about doing that and I will mention it to our manager. We do have the ability to keep things safe at the front desk but it is not as convenient as an in room safe. Hope you have a wonderful rest of the October and an enjoyable winter. We also hope you consider us for a future stay if you are back on the island. Thank you. Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Property: Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing