We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean comfortable hotel, very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable hotel, very convenient”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Very clean room ( which I'm picky about ) very comfortable although the sofa bed was not the greatest. Our 13 year old slept there and he is more resilient than I.
It was nice to have 2 sinks and it was very quiet although the hotel was sold out for the 4th of July holiday. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerFr0mGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I hope you had a safe trip home and that the holiday traffic wasn't too busy. Thank you for the review and the nice compliments. On the sofa bed comfort, I have to agree, sometimes they are made more for the children. I will let the manager know and I'm sure when it is time to change them out he will be on the lookout for more comfortable mattresses. Hope you had the opportunity to watch our wonderful fireworks. That is definitely one of my favorite things to do, besides watching the parade. Such a great small town celebration. We hope you come for a stay again. Enjoy your summer and thanks again for taking the time to write a review. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    151
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
163
215
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights on the 2nd floor with a balcony and panoramic view of the bay. It was clean and quiet. Good continental breakfast. Helpful staff.
There are coffee maker, microwave and small fridge. Slow WiFi speed but managable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Vlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello and we hope you had a great holiday weekend. We always find reviews helpful and your review gives us another opportunity to compliment our housekeeping staff on a job well done. As you know, it is often the unsung heroes who make a business a success. We do realize that our hotel receives positive reviews due to the tireless work our staff puts in. Thank you for the review and we hope you have a great summer! ~joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was on the first floor, pool side, and still had a great balcony view. Even though they were doing some construction on the property and I was awakened early by it, I didn't mind because the serenity of the setting is so complete. Pool side is not the quietest location, obviously.
Room was 2 queens and was very large, with sitting area and large balcony. Balconies are right beside each other, so little privacy there.Staff very nice and helpful, especially during the week.
Although just a very few minutes from the hustle of downtown Bar Harbor, you'd never know it.
Only complaint regards the breakfast. Nothing much for the gluten free eater except fruit and yogurt, maybe one cereal choice, otherwise, no problems whatsoever.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vwaldrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet marketing at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to post a review. I'm sorry about the neighboring construction. I never get tired of that view, either! I will definitely pass on the message regarding a few more gluten free choices, great idea, thank you. Have a great holiday weekend and we hope you keep us in mind if you visit the area again. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked a room on the top floor based on the reviews here and were not disappointed. We were given room 410 which is a corner room with wide view from the balcony. The view is wonderful. Room facilities are good: coffee maker, microwave and small fridge. Haven't noticed a room phone but I never use one anyway. Queen bed. Two sinks: one in the bathroom and another out near coffee maker. Convenient. Shower is strong with plenty of hot water.Housekeeping is the best. Room immaculate.Safe parking.Breakfast is basic but adequate. Real Folger's (at least that's what the pump container says) coffee, both caff and decaff available 24hrs in lobby. And it's good so we haven't used any of our favorite we brought from home.Only con to point out is that someone is demolishing a nursing home a few blocks away to put up a Hampton Inn and there is some construction noise from about 8am to 4 or 5 pm. I expect this is temporary. At night it's extremely quiet as you are on top of a hill well above and set.back from the highway in downtown (or as downtown as it gets in Bar Harbor).While you can't easily walk into town, driving in takes maybe 5 minutes. I recommend turning left at Cottage street when going into town. I understand the free bus starts running next.weekend which will make it easier still.

Helpful?
2 Thank MikeNO
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
atlanticeyrie, Internet marketing at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for the thorough review, it helps us as well as potential guests. I will pass the compliment on our housekeeping to the manager, Bruce. I agree, our housekeeping staff is superb. We are very fortunate. We are also hopeful that the construction nearby will be quick. Luckily, it tends to be during business hours. Take care and hope to see you again. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Service was greeat, room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was simple but fresh and a good choice of food. View from the room is fantastic. Bathroom a little small. Will choose this place again if we ever go back to Bar Haarbor

Room Tip: higher you are, nicer is the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 50sue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello,
We are always encouraged when a recent guest writes a review about our property. It gives us a chance to understand what is positive about the property and also, how to correct any problems or concerns. We are also especially happy you experienced a great reception from our friendly staff and enjoyed your room, too! Thank you for staying with us and also letting us know that you will be back! ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nice little place right on the water in Bar Harbor. Very friendly staff, continental breakfast included. Pet friendly is the reason we chose this place. There are certainly more glamorous places in the area, but it was a good price for the accommodations. Rooms are spacious, with fridge and microwave in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review but more importantly, we are happy you enjoyed your stay. It's always nice to be able to bring our pets with us, isn't it? The manager at the Eyrie has two rescue beagles who basically run his house! If you visit the area again, I hope you consider staying with us.. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic Eryie Lodge in June, 2012, and we couldn't have been happier with it! Our room was on a high floor, and the view was spectacular. The room itself was great--big, clean and comfortable and it had a nice patio for enjoying the view.

The location was fantastic. It is so close to Acadia and downtown Bar Harbor. But, it is a little off the main road, so it is also nice and quiet.

Finally, the staff was very helpful and friendly. Be sure to notice the gigantic reservation board in the office. It's incredible--I've never seen anything like it. The staff was really nice about taking time to explain it to me.

We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AElaine622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are so happy you decided to stay with us. Your review was very thorough and I"m sure helpful for potential guests as well as for our staff. Perhaps you'll come stay with us again this June! We are putting in a lovely pool this spring and have made some terrific improvements. Thank you again for taking the time to post the review. Happy Spring! ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Property: Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing