We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Typical hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here on first night in Bar Harbor. Room was clean and comfortable. The balcony provided a nice view of the harbor. Five minute drive to restaurants and Acadia. Returned for a second night after rain forced us from camping. Staff was very helpful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ckienen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry the weather didn't cooperate with your plans to camp. In spite of that, I hope you enjoyed the view and the comfort of our rooms. It is always a bit discouraging to have lousy weather when you only have a limited time to vacation. Have a good winter. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    150
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
162
213
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were so glad to find this place. It had everything we wanted.

The view on the balcony outside our room was spectacular, even though it was somewhat rainy and chilly. Our room was on the 3rd floor and had a great view of Frenchman Bay. Beds were comfortable, and the room had free internet access. The office staff was very accomodating as far as printing some documents and faxing them for us. I thought the price we paid for the hotel was fair.

This is a good base to see Acadia NP and the office staff was very gracious about answering questions and giving us advice as to where to go, what to see, and how to plan our day.

This is a great choice for seeing Bar Harbor/Acadia NP.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdxjeff1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We consider your review high praise! I noticed you have 90 reviews. That is impressive and when we receive the highest rating from a veteran review that is indeed a compliment. Thank you. We will pass on your review to our staff as mentioning the service is as important to us as the room being comfortable and the view being outstanding. I hope you have a great winter season and if you ever travel this way again we hope you will consider staying at The Eyrie. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Atlantic Eyrie on our second trip to Bar Harbor. I was searching for the place with the best view of Frenchman Bay and I certainly found it. The room was large and comfortable with its own balcony overlooking Frenchman Bay and Bar Harbor. The continental breakfast offered many choices of fare and was very good. Hot coffee, tea or cocoa was available in the lobby all day for our use. Atlantic Eyrie is located on the free shuttle service that will take into Bar Harbor or anywhere on Acadia which was very convenient since it can be difficult to find a parking space in town. My wife and I have decided that when we return to Bar Harbor we will be staying at Atlantic Eyrie.

Room Tip: We stayed in an end room on the top floor so we had both a side view and a balcony view of the surro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Very gratifying from our view point when we read a review like yours. I agree, I could just sit out on the balcony and enjoy the view and then I love it when towards dusk or early in the morning the deer wander onto the grass for a visit. They have been coming here for years. I guess they enjoy the peace and quiet as well! Thank you for the advice for room location for readers of trip advisor. Looking forward to your repeat visit. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
530 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great lodge! Stayed on the top floor overlooking the bay, beautiful! Quiet, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was good too!
Only stayed one night, a great place to base for the Acadia National Park.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the view on the top floor, worth the money for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Quick, concise review! Love it! Glad you enjoyed the view and you are totally correct, the top floors have some amazing views. Hope you visit again and stay longer than one night. Have a lovely winter and thank you for the comments. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a king room. The room was clean and large. Beautiful view of the bay from our balcony. What spoiled our stay was with VERY thin walls we could here EVERYTHING going on in our neighbor's room, and presumably they heard everything in our room. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6guns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
So very sorry you had a less than ideal stay. I do appreciate your commenting that your room was clean and large and the view was beautiful. However, when you can hear the person beside your room that can ruin the whole stay for you. This is an unusual complaint and since we are still in our renovation phase of the property I am hoping this can be rectified by our maintenance/carpentry staff. I will definitely be bringing this to their attention as it is obviously a concern. Thank you and again, I'm sorry for your stay not being what you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a 3rd floor room with a balcony looking out onto Frenchman's Bay. There is an elevator, rooms are quiet and have good light, good showers and good temperature control. Free wifi that works. Beds are comfortable and the room was clean. Plenty of towels. Our room had a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, hair dryer and iron. Besides the 2 queen size beds there was a small sofa with coffee table and another small table to sit and eat or whatever. Service was great. The decor is pretty blah.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fireb0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
"Beautiful view, comfortable room, fair price" "service was great" I think you summed us up in a few words, thank you very much. You hit on what we strive for in a hotel. The view is, of course, not our doing, but we like to think it is the icing on the cake! I hope you made time for a walk around Bar Harbor to take in the sites, shops and restaurants. As locals, we sometimes forget to take the time (or can't find it during the busy season) to do this but with winter fast approaching we are starting to enjoy our community a bit more. Hope you visit us again. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights in a king room on the 4th floor. The view of the bay from our room was beautiful! The room was very large with a second sink and mirror outside the bathroom which was very handy. The bed was comfortable, and while the bathroom is small the shower was fine. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony looking at the bay.

The exterior of the building is old looking but the room had been updated. The free breakfast isn't anything great but it is edible and it's one less meal you have to buy. The desk people are friendly and helpful. The wifi worked fine the first night but the second night we had trouble connecting to it, and even if we were able to connect it was very slow.

I can't say enough about the view from our room. It's a nice place to stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerreWheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello,
It is always rewarding when a guest posts a review and indicates that out of all the hotels in this area they would be coming back to stay with us. Thank you! We appreciate all the comments and one of our main problems seems to be sporadic wifi which we are working on. Hopefully when you come back the wifi issues will be a thing of the past. It is and has been on our "to do" list for the off season. We are glad you enjoyed the view and we will pass on the compliments to the staff. Thanks again, ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Property: Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing