We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, the stay was awesome from the moment we walked in. The view from our room was amazing. The inn is set on a hill a little out of town, but oh the view. The towns free shuttle stops at the front door which makes getting to Bar Harbor a breeze. The kids did not swim in the pool as it was chilly while we were there but it looked very nice. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmwek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    151
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
163
215
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brockway PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here before about 6 years ago and I was happy to see that things have just gotten better. They have renovated the entire hotel. Yes still looks like the 60's on the outside (but a very neat 60's) but everything is updated, neat and very clean - so important! The staff is great and very helpful. We had another couple with us and it was their first time to Bar Harbor and of course the hotel. They were very impressed with that wonderful view and how nice the hotel was for the price. Oh yes the breakfast is great - lots to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I booked this place based on TripAdvisor ratings. It's a nice place and the free bus picks you up right in front of the hotel. It was ideal to get to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia. It would be a fairly good walk to Bar Harbor (25+ minutes), but the free bus made it ideal. The view was nice out our balcony. The rooms were typical, nothing great. Although they had about the softest sheets I've ever had at a hotel! The breakfast was adequate, but again nothing special (store bought bagels, english muffins, french toast, 2 muffin types, 3 cereal choices and bananas). The coffee was not good (we ended up going out for coffee). I wouldn't pick this place over another one if you get a better deal. It was fine, but if I come to Acadia again I would look for somewhere else that was less expensive. It wasn't that pricey, but as I mentioned, there wasn't really anything that made it stand out from other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler11196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Friends booked this for us but they had not stayed there. First view was a bit worrisome as the facade looked 1960s. Warm smiles and super nice Mainiacs gave us the best reception desk greeting ever with maps, suggestions, guide to the free internet, and lots of details. The rooms too were pleasantly far better than the price indicated. Amazing sweeping view of the waterfront--and on the arrival date at least we could see far in the distance. King room had a sofa, table and chairs, fridge, microwave and large balcony with table and chairs. Twin room next door was as large but no sofa. Many of the rooms have full kitchens and it would be a fine place to stay for a week. Solar heated pool and lovely grounds with deer feeding on the grass outside our balcony in the morning! Starting the day we arrived they had a free shuttle bus to various areas saving downtown parking problems. The buses park at the hotel so that's an added convenience--although we did not use them. Breakfast was continental with delicious muffins and tending more to average do-it-yourself fare, but they did have boiled (and peeled hard-boiled eggs), yogurt, and cereals for those who want a protein. Considering this is Bar Harbor and it was the beginning of high season, this was a wonderful place to stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pick a high room with water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here in early June for our second wedding anniversary and had a really nice time. The hotel is lovely and they even arranged some champagne in our room for our anniversary! Our room was a great size and had a balcony overlooking the bay! The hotel is located a mile from Bar Harbor but as we had a car it wasnt a problem! There is no restaurant or pub on the premises which was a bit disappointing but there is a huge selection of these in Bar Harbor anyway! The breakfast is included in the price and is ample enough! Overall we really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

When we arrived in our room, we were welcomed by a great view of Bar Harbor from our porch and side window (we had an end room on the 4th floor, 414). Additionally, there was a bottle of chilled champagne and two glasses with a nice card from the staff congratulating us on our 10 year wedding anniversary.

The staff was extremely helpful in providing dining suggestions and placed clean towels and other items on our hotel door handle when we had our "privacy please" sign out. The breakfast met our expectations. The friendly gentleman who was in charge of breakfast was very attentive and kept everything nicely stocked.

The rooms are peaceful and clean. The extra sink outside the bathroom was helpful for getting ready in a timely manner for our active days. The small table/chairs were nice as well as the couch and coffee table. The room was very spacious for the two of us.

We would absolutely recommend this hotel because of the attentive staff, great view, peaceful environment, nice breakfast, and the clean, spacious room we experienced. Simply put, this hotel is an outstanding gem that added to our memorable Bar Harbor/Acadia trip!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VKinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Twp. PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

One mile from downtown Bar Harbor this lodge was all we had hoped for and more. Beautiful view, swimmong pool, breakfast and large clean rooms!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Property: Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing