We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Acacia House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acacia House Inn
Ranked #13 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We chose this hotel after reading the other reviews on this website, and we were not disappointed! The room was lovely and spotless, with an enormous bathroom. The hotel is on a side street so it's very peaceful, even though it's just a block or two from all the restaurants and shops. We were there in mid-June and the parking lot, while smallish, was never full. If we had come a week later, when the free Island Explorer bus started running for the season, it would have been even easier, as we could have parked our car and taken the bus everywhere.

Patty and Bruce, the owners, were incredibly nice and always ready to give directions and recommendations for hikes, etc. They take this very seriously! When a kayak outfitter they recommended gave us a less than stellar tour, Patty called and complained on our behalf. She even remembered the name of our daughter (who wasn't with us) and gave us little gifts to bring home to her.

I haven't stayed anywhere else in Bar Harbor, so I can't compare, but I can't imagine finding a better place for the money. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shadowlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 264 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2008

We were visiting Bar Harbor and decided to stay... we walked to the hotel and asked for three rooms. The inn keepers Pat & Bruce were more than helpful. They gave us a great rate for the night and got us more chairs to sit on the roof top deck. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The breakfast offered wonderful blueberry muffins and a good selection of teas.
We would stay there again!

Stayed: June 2008
Thank campnqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

My husband and I choose the Acacia House, after extensive research, because of the reviews, value and location. Location, location, location. The Acacia House is just a few steps away from all the cute little shops. We did not have to drive, except to go exploring outside of the town square. I spoke with Patty, prior to booking, and was convinced that this was the perfect spot. We were not disappointed. The pictures on their website did not do our room justice. The room was beautiful and the bathroom was even larger than our room. The inn has a Key West feel. We had a large, private patio, which we enjoyed greatly. Daily breakfast included the aforementioned blueberry crumb muffins, orange juice, fresh fruit and cereal, bread and bagel options.

Do not miss the Nature Cruise! Patty highly recommended we go and this was the highlight of our trip. We got amazing pictures of a mother seal nurturing her little one...bald eagles and harbor porpoises. The package also included a bus trip that makes sure you know the history of Bar Harbor, which includes a trip to the summit of Cadillac Mountain, as well as an amazing lobster dinner. Patty and Bruce helped us with their extensive knowledge of what is a must do and what can be skipped.

After each day, we returned our room, which was in pristine condition. The bed was extraordinarily comfortable.

I am so glad we choose Acacia House. We almost chose cottages, which are mostly on the outskirts of all the action. We could have chosen an expensive hotel, with an ocean view. But we choose to save our funds, as we did not plan on staying holed up in our room. And thank goodness. We were able to spend plenty of time by and on the water.

Finally, due to a family tragedy, we had to cut two days off our trip. Patty and Bruce were under no obligation to refund even a portion. We had no ability to give proper notice and since this was not even high season, I doubt they were able to rent the room again on such short notice. I will only say that they made it right. Unexpected...as it should be.

We will be back! We can not wait!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scorpnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Acacia House, especially the helpful and hospitable services provided by our hosts. Despite arriving late after a long drive we were welcomed, swiftly checked in and an excellent restaurant within easy walking distance was recommended. Our accommodation, especially the bed, was very comfortable and the breakfast included deliciously home-made blueberry muffins. The hotel is situated in a quiet street but only a few blocks away from the wide range of restaurants and stores in Bar Harbor. Throughout our stay Patty and Bruce offered helpful suggestions for sightseeing, walking and dining. Patty especially was uncanny in her ability to gauge our needs and eager to help in every way. It was very homely and entirely in harmony with the warmth & beauty of Mount Desert Island.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willibums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

This quaint old Victorian is in a great location within walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor. Ideal place for people with children. However, breakfast is the same everyday. Great blueberry muffins but after a few days it would be nice to have more variety. We never met Bruce and had limited contact with Patty but she seemed nice. It's not your typical bed & breakfast. The owners do not appear to live in the home. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Parking is limited. Reasonable pricing. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yankeepotroasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

This B and B was an overall joy to stay at. It was within walking distance to everything in town, in fact we didn't have to drive anywhere, our vehicle remained in the lot the entire time. The rates were very reasonable for the time that we went, and believe me I researched a lot of places. The room we were in was super clean and comfortable. The street where it is situated was extremely quiet at night so you were sure to get a good nights rest. The owners were wonderfully helpful and knowledgable about the town of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. There were fresh blueberry muffins and fruit each morning for the continental breakfast, it was wonderful! I would highly recommend Acacia House!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KUMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Acacia House from Sept. 25-30. It was wonderful. We had the suite and loved our room. The bed was comfortable, the sitting area was really cute and the shower was fantastic (my favorite part of the room). Patty and Bruce were always friendly and helped us out with places to eat and maps of the area. The breakfast was great and convenient. I definitely became addicted to the blueberry muffins--they were so delicious!! The location was perfect and allowed us to walk back and forth from the town area without having to worry about parking. Acacia is a lovely B&B that's worth checking out and we will definitely be back to Bar Harbor in the future. Such a beautiful, relaxing area!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellyru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
#3 of 30 in Bar Harbor
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia House Inn

Address: 6 High St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1817
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $40 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and friendly century-old Victorian in a quiet, tree-lined neighborhood, just steps away from all that Bar Harbor has to offer. Rooms feature organic linens, private baths, hardwood floors, some with balconies. Full breakfast served every morning on our sun-lit porch, complimentary afternoon refreshments, handmade pastries and espresso. Off-street parking, cable, wifi, maps and books, knowledgeable innkeepers will help you get the most from your Acadia vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acacia House Hotel Bar Harbor
Acacia House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing