We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favorite Bar Harbor experiences”

Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Downeast Windjammer Cruises A morning, afternoon or sunset sail with legendary Downeast Windjammer Cruises is fun for the whole family. Each offers a leisurely sail among the island of Frenchman Bay aboard one of two historic schooners: the twin-masted *Bailey Louise Todd* and the 151-foot *Margaret Todd*, the first four-masted schooner to work New England waters in over half a century. Guests can view Acadia National Park from the sea, watch lobster men hauling their traps, see the bay's abundant wildlife, have a picnic, or just relax on the spacious decks of these historic sailing vessels. There are three trips daily, each approximately 1.5 to 2 hours long. All cruises are dog friendly. For a different adventure take a ride on one of our ferries from Bar Harbor to the other side of Acadia National Park to Schoodic.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of our favorite Bar Harbor experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This trip was too cool! Volunteers are allowed to help raise the sails (adult volunteers only since it is strenuous work.) The cruise is a leisurely tour around Frenchman's Bay, and it is fun to sail on a windjammer. The staff is friendly and will talk with passengers during the sail.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthernGirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    81
    62
    45
    36
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Day on the Ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you are looking for a heart pounding sea adventure, look elsewhere. Enjoy this trip for what it offers: an opportunity to sit back and relax! Feel the ocean breeze ruffle your hair; watch the sun's rays dance on the waves like diamonds; hear the sails flapping against the wind, and taste the salt on your lips! We were blessed with an ample wind and bright sun, which allowed the ship to be powered only by its sails for the bulk of the trip. We were able to see a couple of seal and porpoise heads pop up during our voyage.

I strongly recommend wearing a hat and applying sunscreen, because there are not many shady spots on bright days. I also advise bringing along cold beverages so as not to get dehydrated. Unless it is VERY warm out, remember to bring some kind of jacket. It is much cooler on the ocean than on the land, and it can get quite chilly, depending on the overall weather.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoy sailing Frenchman's Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is our tradition to take a sail on the afternoon of the 4th of July. We take the 2pm sail. Captain Pagel has been sailing out of Bar Harbor for at least 20 years now and the Margaret Todd is his fourth sailing ship. He also has a smaller sailboat that you can charter for a small group, He also has a motor boat for fiishing trips and runs a ferry service to Winter Harbor, where you can wander the town or take the Island Explorer Bus to Schoonidc Pennisula - the quiet side of Acadia. We go there when Bar Harbor is too hot. They now have the naturalist on-board to talk about the natural history of the area and point out an identify various wildlife. We've seen seals, bald eagles and assorted seabirds. Once the sails are raised - you can help - we go where the wind takes the Margaret Todd, so each sail is different. Bring a couple of layers of clothing with you as it can be cooler out on the water, cameras and binoculars to look for seabirds and eagles. You can also bring a cooler with drinks and a limited amount of beer or wine. You can buy tickets down on the wharf, or on Cottage Street in Cotton of the Sea (I think that is the name). Check out their website for more details.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny_Big_Sur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

While visiting barHarbor I made reservations for a sunset cruise and was promised it would be a night to remember. It was a night to remember all right!! We saw no sea life as promised and the ship was so packed that you couldn't stand up and move , but the worst part was a guitar player that walked around screaming songs that he had written! We also returned before the sun set!!so much for a romantic sunset cruise!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank reba07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Get rid of the so-called singer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We have been on this cruise before and absolutely loved it. Tonight (July 5, 2013) the cruise had what they called live music. One of the great attractions of this trip is the peace and quiet of being propelled by wind instead of a motor. This trip was ruined by a talentless guitar player-singer. Instead of the quit of a sunset cruise on a schooner, we were tortured by the this awful "musician." Avoid any trip where they advertise live " music" at all costs. Completely ruined what is usually a wonderful experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank streepoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Downeast Windjammer Cruise Lines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing