We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local gem”
Review of Fathom - CLOSED

Fathom
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fathom is a casually refined restaurant located on the corner of Cottage, Bridge & Summer Streets in Bar Harbor, Maine. We use only the highest quality produce, fish and meats - many sourced locally or from specialty purveyors. Our bar is stocked with fine wine, spirits, Maine made beer, and hand crafted cocktails. Chef Brandon Sanders' authentic cuisine is infused with tradition yet energized by craft and creativity. Please join us for a memorable dining experience away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Local gem”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Good food, sophisticated but not fancy, well executed. Crab cake appetizer was particularly good - delicate and tasty. Homemade blueberry pie was delicious. Friendly waitstaff. Not the best location but quiet and away from the worst of Bar Harbor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    111
    29
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you're a foodie, you've got to come here!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Everything about this place, from the interior, thru service, to presentation of food, is top notch. My husband and i have chosen this place for our dedicated anniversary restaurant. It's not cheap, but you pay for what you get. Most delicious steak i have ever had (the fillet with crispy kale).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Badema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We liked the food and service, It food certainly had good taste and presentation, This was more of a quality restaurant than quantity (we like that type).
Menu was not extensive but it covered all the basic food types and we enjoyed both meat and fish dishes.
Our only slight negative was our seating in the front of the restaurant, small room with 3 tables, we could hear all that was spoken by our neighbor, Who was a very opinionated male who wanted you to know he was important (in his own mind).
We would certainly eat here again and try the other main room.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceilings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a great meal at Fathom on our recent trip and would highly recommend this restaurant. We did not have reservations but they took us in anyway. The fish meal was excellent and so was the service. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting this town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stancal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Given all the great reviews, we expected a memorable dining experience. Instead, we got an okay meal, but nothing special. My husband ordered a Vietnamese salad made with shrimp noodles - shrimp pureed and made into noodles. The salad was fresh, but the parts of the salad didn't seem to mesh and overall the salad was bland. My halibut was fine, nothing special, and the accompanying tomato spaetzel didn't have much flavor. My husband did enjoy the bouillabaisse; it was flavorful and fresh. We got the impression that the chef is more concerned with interesting techniques than the actual flavors of the food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fathom also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing