We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”
Review of Fathom - CLOSED

Fathom
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fathom is a casually refined restaurant located on the corner of Cottage, Bridge & Summer Streets in Bar Harbor, Maine. We use only the highest quality produce, fish and meats - many sourced locally or from specialty purveyors. Our bar is stocked with fine wine, spirits, Maine made beer, and hand crafted cocktails. Chef Brandon Sanders' authentic cuisine is infused with tradition yet energized by craft and creativity. Please join us for a memorable dining experience away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
Peaks Island, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Great food. Awesome presentation. Attentive service! Wine list has tasting notes for most of their wines - really helpful in choosing a bottle. Cute outdoor seating option - recommend that you show up early or make reservations.

Helpful?
Thank I_wasnt_really_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    111
    29
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife loved Fathom and I thought it was average. I had the salmon and an overly sweet slice of blueberry pie. I expected more for the price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KlepPing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT, USA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Chateaubriand to die for!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This steak was succulent and tasty....my mouth is watering just thinking of it! The crispy Kale was also done to perfection and I got a lot of it! I wasn't eating the whipped potatoes so they substituted for extra crispy Kale! Great service and great food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kallins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh, flavorful, spectacular”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We read about Fathom our first night in Bar Harbor, and went without a reservation. We were greeted at the door by Tracy, who we later learned was the owner. She found us a lovely table and we went on to have one of the 10 best dinners of my life. The food was fresh, the service was outstanding, the flavors were original and the presentation artful. Tracy stopped by to discuss our meal, and answered questions about the window curtains with shells and the stained glass panels near the door. Everything was delicious, from the lemongrass creme brulee to the bread with molasses butter to the white wine sangria and the seared tuna appetizer adorned with fresh and savory flavors. I cannot state this strongly enough... if you like wonderful food and you are visiting Bar Harbor as I have for the past 17 years, you must have dinner at Fathom. If you are within 30 miles, make the trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herb I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Always enjoy our meals here. Food and service is always good and attentive. The seafood and fish dishes are excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fathom also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing