We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!”
Review of Fathom - CLOSED

Fathom
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fathom is a casually refined restaurant located on the corner of Cottage, Bridge & Summer Streets in Bar Harbor, Maine. We use only the highest quality produce, fish and meats - many sourced locally or from specialty purveyors. Our bar is stocked with fine wine, spirits, Maine made beer, and hand crafted cocktails. Chef Brandon Sanders' authentic cuisine is infused with tradition yet energized by craft and creativity. Please join us for a memorable dining experience away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
2 reviews
“Unbelievable!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just go - words don't do it justice. Make reservations in advance. And make sure to try the strawberry/rhubarb salad.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    111
    29
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant spot, worth the splurge”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Fathom is a bit off the beaten path, i.e. not in the middle of the Bar Harbor tourist zone. The food was terrific and the service and atmosphere even better. It is worth reserving ahead for this special place. Lobster carbonara was delicious. Fourth of July margarita (watermelon, blueberry and black pepper) - awesome!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LKC514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Service was great, nice atmosphere and great food. Filet was excellent, son had lobster carbonara with pasta and wife had yellow tuna. Highly recommend and off beaten path.

Helpful?
1 Thank BradyJanGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite delicious.....”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I decided to try Fathom after a recommendation from our Innkeepers and from reading the reviews online. We were delighted that we did! My husband had the lobster carbonara which he absolutely loved and I had the halibut which was accompanied by fresh fiddleheads and a spicy carrot purée which was amazing! The wait staff was very attentive and helpful and we had a nice spot on the outside patio that was quiet and comfortable. We will definitely dine here again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SZandSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Went with high expectations - left disappointed”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I were so excited to try Fathom after hearing great reviews during our visit to Bar Harbor last year, but weren't able to fit in a visit so it was at the top of our list for places to try this year. Unfortunately, our experience fell very short of our expectations, and we wish we would have gone somewhere else for dinner.

Compared to so many other restaurants in the area - both the ambiance and the food were very lacking. For fine dining - there were no table linens and the music was playing pretty loud. The biggest disappointment though, was definitely the food. Starting with the presentation all the way through to the taste. We ordered mussels as an appetizer, which had very little flavor. For dinner my husband ordered scallops and baby octopus ramen which was more noodles and soup than anything else (again very little flavor, octopus or scallops). I ordered the blackened swordfish with spicy calamari and mango salad. The fish was cooked well, but the sauce was so hot and overpowering you could barely taste any other flavor.

A couple things we did enjoy - there was a good wine list, our server was very pleasant, and our dessert, chocolate cremeux, was very tasty (by far the best part of the meal). So if you would really like to try this place. ... maybe just go for a glass of wine and a dessert.

Also, be sure to check the menu of the night versus just the online version. The online menu had listed red snapper and lavender creme brulee, both of which I was very excited to try, but unfortunately neither were being offered the night of our visit.

Final recommendation - Skip Fathom and spend your evening at another Bar Harbor favorite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EOllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fathom also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing