We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all about the food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fathom - CLOSED

Fathom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Fathom is a casually refined restaurant located on the corner of Cottage, Bridge & Summer Streets in Bar Harbor, Maine. We use only the highest quality produce, fish and meats - many sourced locally or from specialty purveyors. Our bar is stocked with fine wine, spirits, Maine made beer, and hand crafted cocktails. Chef Brandon Sanders' authentic cuisine is infused with tradition yet energized by craft and creativity. Please join us for a memorable dining experience away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's all about the food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We were just walking the street, looking for a nice place to eat dinner. Saw the sign "Fathom" and didn't even know if it was a restaurant. The place was cute and inviting. We asked to see a menu and it looked good so we asked for a table. We didn't have a reservation but they had one table by the door left and sat us. Wow! We lucked out! The food was really out of this world and worth the price. Our appetizers - scallop/prosciutto skewers and pear and beet salad were delicious. The cioppino was out of this world and the pork loin with wild mushrooms was tender, juicy and full of flavor. We highly recommend this place if you can get a reservation. It seemed to be quite popular with the local crowd!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fly4Work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    111
    29
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go for the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is the type of place I'd reserve for birthdays or anniversaries partly because of cost and partly because they make it a nice experience. The food here was lovely and thoughtful. The crab cakes were so good that the ones I had the other day at the west street cafe seemed shameful. I probably could have had a gallon of the lobster bisque! My husband and I had eaten a late lunch so we shared a meal - the t-bone. It was good but not great. Should have gone with the ribeye or whatever it was with kale. I had a very boozy gin drink and we had two small desserts that were wonderful. It's a few months later so I can't remember one of them but the other was dairy free ice cream made with coconut milk. We are coming back to BH next summer and although I did enjoy fathom once and would recommend it we'll try other places because there are so many options at a lower price point.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lirpa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent food, good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We picked this for our last night in Bar Harbor because the reviews were so good unfortunately we were slightly disappointed. The staff was friendly and we were seated promtly ( we did have reservations) the ambiance in nice. The soup came out just barely warm, we sent it back to be reheated and it came back slightly better but I would have liked it hot. The crab cakes were very good but the rest of the food was just OK. Think I would try another place if I returned to Bar Harbor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great lil meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were attracted by the menu for Fathom at the B&B we were staying at, had a little difficulty finding it, down a not so well lighted street, but the food made up for it even tho we didnt have a reservation.
We started off with a pair of lightly pan-fried crabcakes served with a garlic aioli and roasted tomato coulis. For our entree we had Maine lobster with pan fried gnocchi and strips of zucchini in a parsley brown butter sauce. Both were outstanding! service was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank artistwanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Fathom proved to be a lovely restaurant with great food. Service was spot-on and wonderfully accommodating. Next time in Bar Harbor we'll be enjoying a meal at Fathom.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fathom also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing