We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dueling Chefs- It's a win-win for those of us dining!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fathom - CLOSED

Fathom
Price range: $18 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fathom is a casually refined restaurant located on the corner of Cottage, Bridge & Summer Streets in Bar Harbor, Maine. We use only the highest quality produce, fish and meats - many sourced locally or from specialty purveyors. Our bar is stocked with fine wine, spirits, Maine made beer, and hand crafted cocktails. Chef Brandon Sanders' authentic cuisine is infused with tradition yet energized by craft and creativity. Please join us for a memorable dining experience away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
Lamoine, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dueling Chefs- It's a win-win for those of us dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Fathom has just started a Chef series! The first one, held January 24, offered a 6 course duo tasting menu created by chef/owner Josh Heikkinen and his mentor, chef Michael Anderson of August Moon Catering. It was a sell-out, understandably so with the meal they prepared. This week, Feb 27, will be #2 in the series where Fathom Chef Josh Heikkinen & Red Sky Chef James Lindquist have released a menu that promises to be an awesome 6-course meal (!!) at a very reasonable price of $50/head: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Fathom/159420784121576?sk=app_160363220729661

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chefviking_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    111
    29
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The owners of the B&B where we stayed recommended Fathom. We decided to go there to celebrate my husband's birthday. It was the PERFECT choice! The food was delicious, ambiance was lovely and service could not have been better. We particularly enjoyed the fact that dinner was perfectly paced - no one rushed you, but you also didn't wait too long for your food. I had an acorn apple soup as an appetizer. It was to die for! I have tried to immitate it at home but can't quite match the quality of Fathom's soup. Everything was delicious. We'd love to go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hjmasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, CT
Level Contributor
461 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Far and away the best meal in Bar Harbor this winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just had a terrific meal at Fathom. Very good service, nice atmosphere and great food. The caesar salad and lobster and snapper spring rolls were very tasty appetizers. Scallops with brussel sprouts were tender, fresh, sweet and delicious. Zucchini gnocchi with lobster and brown butter contained 1 and 1/2 lbs of fresh Maine lobster meat and the Chateaubriand beef filet was gently rubbed with just a little bit of chili pepper and cumin which blended incredibly well with the wild mushroom bearnaise sauce, crispy kale and roasted red potatoes. The only dish that wasn't perfect was the pulled pork--it was succulent but the onions didn't pair so well with the flavor of the meat. Almost all of the food is locally sourced, well-chosen and extremely well-prepared. The wine list is not extensive but is very good. I think my only complaint is that they don't accept American Express.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank v0yageur22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great apps. Good service. Nice bottle of wine. Entries were hot and well prepared. Nice decor. Relaxed atmosphere. Good espresso.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AFDNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best fine dining in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

First I live here and have for 20 years. Fathom is the finest dining experience I have had in years. It is expensive but if it is a special occasion it is worth it. If you want to save some bucks try McKays, excellent food and less expensive. If you voted for Obama you might want to try Havana's also excellent. If you have 3 nights and want to splurge each night do all 3. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MDICoservative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fathom also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing