We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem”

Kebo Valley Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kebo Valley Golf Club was established in 1888, located in Bar Harbor, Maine it is the 8th oldest golf club in the United States. The golf course is surrounded by Acadia National Park, and offers majestic views of the mountains of Acadia. This 6,131 yard / Par 70 Classic Herbert Leeds designed golf course will challenge all golfers, while providing spectacular scenery. Ranked 4 Star Golf Digest. Kebo Valley Golf Course is open to the Public.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I played Kebo Valley today. It is literally five minutes from Main Street in Bar Harbor, and it is a very cool track. The course is in excellent conditions and is tucked up against mountains, making for great views and elevation changes. The greens are fast and challenging. The course is relatively short -- 6,100 yards par 70 -- but it is far from a pushover. It is great mix of holes, each with great character that comes from classic design and 125 years of maturity. I've played a lot of golf all over the country, but rarely I have I found such an unexpected delight.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    13
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fun traditional course”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I recently played Kebo Valley while on vacation in Bar Harbor. It is a nice old course and the conditions are in great shape, especially compared to the three other courses that I played in the area. Great views and scenery. We saw three deer at separate times that didn't even seem afraid of our presence. It cost more than other courses in the area but worth it. Had a nice lunch there after our round. Called the day before for a tee time and had no problem and also found a 15% off coupon at the front desk of our campground. Beware that if playing in the morning you might run into some serious fog due to being in a valley surrounded by mountains. We teed of at 9:15 am and had a terrible time seeing the second and third holes. The fog was blinding, by the 4th hole it was sunny and crystal clear out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dwmac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very close to town”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

my husband and son golf here every year, this is one of the oldest golf clubs. they enjoy the scenery with a great view of Cadillac Mountain from the golf course. not too pricey, but worth what you pay.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2012CAB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very well kept grounds. There is a restaurant & pro shop. The course winds through Acadia National Park. Everyone is either a friendly local or a vacationer, either way the vibe is relaxed. The course is challenging enough for a scratch golfer & pretty enough for those with a high handicap to look around & enjoy their 8th shot on the hole. LOL

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PsycoRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,620 reviews
1,090 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,306 helpful votes
“A very nice course that will challenge the best golfer”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We always play this course when we visit Bar Harbor because it has very forgiving fairways and yest provides a challenge with small greens. The par threes are fun, especially on the front nine. It is pricey for Maine, but very reasonable if you a play Sugarloaf or Belgrade Lakes. There are some unique holes, like the par three #9 that will leave you wondering how you got a double on your score card if you use the wrong club. The first par 5 is a great hole and you should par it easily if you bother to drive up the hill before taking the second shot...other than these two tips you are on your own just like president Taft.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kebo Valley Golf Club also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Kebo Valley Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing