We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We live in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Friar Pub

Black Friar Pub
Ranked #26 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Bar Harbor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We live in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I, along with friends who live in Baltimore, dined here last night. In the last twenty five years we have eaten in every restaurant on the Island. This was the best meal we have had. I am ashamed we waited so long to try it. True, no view like other restaurants, service a bit slow (bartender tends bar and is the waitress), meal might take a little longer (no frozen stuff here) but its all well worth it- delicious. Our friends (one a retired doctor) actually said it was the best meal he has had on MDI as well. So small; quaint; true Irish or English atmosphere; informal; and great food. A hidden gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank roger i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    49
    22
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I both tried the drunken burger and it was awesome! I would highly recommend it. Off the beaten path, but worth the find!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADISON
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Neat little pub with an excellent menu featuring local fare. Best for couples but saw a few kids here. Friendly prompt service, felt very cosy. It also serves a bed and breakfast but you have to reserve well ahead of time

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RALPH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food and very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The wife and I had lunch at the Black Friar. She had the drunken burger and I had the blueberry pulled pork sandwich. She rated her sandwich very good. My pulled pork was not what I thought pulled pork should taste like(I am from the south where pork and BBQ sauce are mingled together on a sandwich). The pulled pork was different, with a spicy blueberry flavor. Even though it had a different taste from the usual souther pork sandwich, I rated it very good and I would try it again. The service was very good, fast and cheerful and very helpful. Add the quiet out of the way location for the restaurant, both of us would definitely try it again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanOHarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique and worth the trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Although we were a bit confused when we first parked on the street and looked into the broken windows to a barren room, we realized the entrance to the pub was down the side alleyway. The inside is eclectic, the owner & bar tender/waitress were welcoming, and most of all, the chef and his original, from-scratch dishes were terrific! Definitely worth going!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Friar Pub also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Black Friar Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing