We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Friar Pub

Black Friar Pub
Ranked #18 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have to completely disagree with an earlier reviewer - fried food is not a necessity in an English pub but good beer is! We found the pub part way through our stay in Bar Harbor and were lucky enough to coincide with some live music. We sat at the bar and ate an excellent meal - the chef was rushed off his feet, but our meals were both first rate. We found both the owner and barmaid to be very friendly - as were other guests. My only criticism was the lack of cider (hard cider, that is). I was assured that this omission would be rectified during the next season! We had one of the most enjoyable evenings of our month long holiday in the USA in this bar and we would definitely recommend to the visitor to Bar Harbor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    49
    22
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastern
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“good food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice, corner-pub atmosphere on a side street away from the packed tourist places. Healthy, tasty food in a quiet atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank An0ther0pini0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The B&B has a pub that serves excellent food and drinks. Had the Lobster that was fantastic! Cozy atmosphere and reasonably priced. Service was great, too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grouper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Little Pub with Lots to Love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a great little pub reminiscent of an English pub. Small in scale but big on great dinner and pub fare selections. Food was very good - well prepared and attractively served. Staff was very friendly and warm to customers. A short walk from heart of downtown on a quiet side street. Make reservations as the place is small. Also has an Inn which sounds equally charming though we didn't experience the Inn first-hand.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not A Pub”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

NO fried foods? How can this be called a pub? I got the chicken wings and there was still feathers on the wings, I posted a picture they were not even browned........The scallop hash had a fishy taste and was watery, top was brown but it needed cooked on both sides.. ugg......the service was good and the place was clean. This food was just not what we expected maybe it was just a bad night for the cook?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donna2sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FriarTom, Owner at Black Friar Pub, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Black Friar is proud to offer fresh and unique dishes. Yes we do not have fried foods and this is by choice. There are plenty of restaurants in Bar Harbor that offer the fried food menu but not ours. Does this not make us a pub? The Friar offers an atmosphere and food choices not found anywhere else in the village, and yes the pub is the authentic thing with better food than just fried.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Friar Pub also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Black Friar Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing