We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchman Bay

Frenchman Bay
Ranked #5 of 72 things to do in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Views were great
Very beautiful little village
Weather in October was nice in the sun and cool in the shade

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancy2363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    47
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aviston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful fall day trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We visited Bar Harbor on a day trip included with our cruise. We didn't schedule an excursion and were glad we chose to explore on our own. We walked the ocean path into the Main Street area. It was truly beautiful! Leaves were just turning and the air was crisp. We found many little shops to explore.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AvistonSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great place to get married!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped here on a port of call on our cruise last week (10-9-2013), and thought Bar Harbor was such a beautiful spot we decided to get married there. Went to city hall, had a private ceremony on the banks of Frenchman Bay, and were back on board ship in time for dinner !! Frenchman Bay will always hold a special place in our hearts!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Garam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Frenchman Bay Schooner Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The scenery rivals Alaska. The ride aboard the Margaret Todd Schooner was all that one could image. I would go back in a flash if I could. The Captain's knowledge gives you as a passenger complete confidence in what will happen and what you should look forward to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Frenchman Bay is really beautiful and one could just spend the day there watching all the ships, boats, and schooners coming and going. The Porcupine Islands as beautiful from the bay at sun set. We took an evening sunset cruise on the Margaret Todd and had amazing views of the bay and surrounding area. We saw all kinds of birds and dolphins too. MY son loved trying to "push" Balance Rock over and it was easy to get to from the Shore Path that runs along the bay. The path makes for a nice walk/stroll after lobster meal overlooking the bay. The Path is wheelchair and stroller friendly, all flat which is great if you have someone in your group that is elderly and has limited balance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Pietrosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchman Bay also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Frenchman Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing