We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Eat, Drink, and Hangout.”

Mad Hatter Pub and Grill
Ranked #89 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Mad Hatter Pub and Grill is located at 116 Cottage Street in Bar Harbor, Maine. We are just down the street from the hustle and bustle of town giving a fun, local and laid back atmosphere. We serve lunch and dinner daily from 11am til 1:00am. Unlike most places our Happy Hour runs from 3pm til 6pm EVERYDAY. Come grab a drink and pick a card from the Mad Hatter's deck to claim your food or beverage discounts while you enjoy any of our 6 hd tv's, play NTN trivia, or any of our other video games or just relax on the comfy couches. We have free WI-FI and are open year-round. Also be sure to check our late night entertainment which starts at 10pm til 1am. We have a little of everything from open-mic to karaoke and live bands to DJ's with at least 1 monthly theme party. Book your reservation or party here! Call 1-207-288-7231 and ask for Anna.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place To Eat, Drink, and Hangout.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Living in Bar Harbor, I try many of the different places to eat and enjoy drinks after work. I always have a great meal at the Hatter, may it be during lunch before work, or after work at 11pm. Huge bonus that they serve food until 1am! I have become addicted to their different flatbreads and the veggie sandwich. On the weekends they have great DJs and a nice open dance area set off from the bar area- so you can have the best of both worlds. The staff is great- always funny and friendly and want to have a good time and make sure you do also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    10
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greer, SC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Mad Hatter does the lobster roll the way we like it - sauted in butter. (A mayonnaise dressing is considered typical New England, but isn't to our tastes.) The toasted rolls were chock full of claw and knuckle meat - absolutely delicious. We happened to stop in on a day when there was a special, so we got a "buy one, get the second 50% off" amazing deal. The sandwiches are accompanied by house-made potato chips (fries aren't available), which while tasty were also greasy. Our server was great, but we wish he had spoken up to the customer who stepped - barely - outside the large door (so big it might originally have been a garage opening) to smoke, because the odor found its way to us during our meal. Yuck. Rude of the customer, but really the server (he appeared to be the only person on duty out front) should have asked the guy to move. The restaurant is a sports bar so there is a pool table, dartboard, music (one can hook up one's smart phone/iPod and have one's selections play), etc. Hubby said it was the BEST lobster roll he's ever had (I'd place it in the top 3).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjrk1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I liked their version of the BLT- it had turkey & cheese on it. Great bartender who was also the waiter during lunch. Bonus- no latex gloves!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank teacherp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great bar with a lot of themed events. Great atmosphere. Not rowdy like some of the others. No dancing area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarHarborNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to this place for the 2nd year in a row in between lunch and dinner. The menu is basic bar food but it was decent. It had board games to keep the kids busy while they waited. However, it is a bar atmosphere with a pool table in the dining area. This year there was an obnoxious person playing pool with not the best language but the staff did speak to the person and he apologized us. Cannot really fault the restaurant since it is really more of a bar.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Hatter Pub and Grill also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Mad Hatter Pub and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing