We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour--great guides!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Natural History Center

The Natural History Center
Ranked #28 of 42 Tours in Bar Harbor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Natural History Center is a family-run business based in Bar Harbor, Maine, specializing in leading birding, nature, and adventure tours in the Acadia and Downeast region. Whether you are interested in learning about birds or adding to your life-list, learning to kayak or build on skills you already have, The Natural History Center has a staff of experts to help. Families with children of any age can go on tide-pool adventures. Go on a photo safari to capture birds or the hidden gems of the natural world. Take a scenic tour of Acadia National Park, learning about the history of the natural and cultural landscape. In the winter, cross-country skiing and snow-shoeing in Acadia National Park is an excellent activity (February is a particularly good month to plan winter activities). Join The Natural History Center for any of your favorite outdoor adventures. Tours are generally geared to small or private groups. All ages and abilities are welcome; they will customize the tour to fit your interests and needs. Tours are available year-round. Their personable staff are sure to add to your visit to the Acadia region of Maine.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tour--great guides!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Rich took a group of us out for a 3 hour kayak tour in the Bar Harbor area. We learned so much about local history, lobster fishing, native birds and wildlife, kayaking tips, and had simply a wonderful time. The shop is a don't-miss in Bar Harbor---not your typical "tourist shop"-- and they will help you find just the right adventure for you and your fellow travelers. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Illinimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natural_History_Ctr, Owner at The Natural History Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
One of the many joys of running The Natural History Center is the diversity of people we meet. This particular kayak tour was a program we offered to Family Nature Summit, a group of over 300 people that came to Bar Harbor (Maine) for a week of diverse nature and adventure programming. This was essentially summer camp for families…and we were some of the camp councilors! Our only regret that the week ended far too soon! We hope to be able to work with this wonderful group again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun While Kayaking and Learning Water Navigation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Natalie from the Natural History Center Store took a group of 10 of us on a kayak trip around Frenchs Bay and gave us a lesson on how to navigate on the water. With the knowledge she gave me, I feel safer on the water and believe I could find my way back home should the fog come in while I am out on the water. Natalie accommodated our various skills and made everyone feel safe. She was also an excellent teacher. It was a wonderful way to spend the morning and see the beautiful town of Bar Harbor from the ocean view.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KathleenGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic nature experience for children AND adults!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We took a custom, private tour with three adults and four children between the ages of 4 and 9 that was among the best things we've ever done in Maine. We focused on a short hike to some tide pools and a trip to the top of Cadillac Mountain. An all-adult tour could have covered more ground in the same amount of time, but this was the perfect 4-hour tour for our group.

Rich was absolutely amazing with the kids. He adapted our hike to their pace and his explanations to their interests and questions. He gave each child a job to do as we hiked (a small piece of equipment to carry and be responsible for). When we reached the tide pools, they were enthralled by the creatures that he found and identified for them; they were briefly allowed to touch and/or hold green crabs, Jonah crabs, whelks, starfish, and other sea creatures before returning them to the tide pools. I can't emphasize enough how much the kids LOVED that experience.

We are already planning a return trip, and we hope to try sea kayaking lessons for the adults next time around. We can't recommend Rich and The Natural History Center highly enough!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LaSalleUGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the most interesting, and enjoyable tours I've taken anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We took a custom, private tour on July 17, 2013 and had a fantastic time. We received a recommendation from a friend about the tour they took with The Natural History Center, so we decided to give it a try. I honestly cannot wait until our next visit to Acadia National Park so that we may again take a tour of other areas within the park that we did not have time to check out this time around. Richard was very knowledgeable about both the history of the park, and the wildlife in the area. He is absolutely fantastic with children, also, never skipping a beat with the curious and the entertaining questions from the four children we brought along. I especially enjoyed our visit to one of the tidal pools he brought us to where he was able to show the children some of the wildlife that live in the pools, such as crabs and starfish, which completely captivated the kids for quite some time.

I'm hoping to take a kayak tour with him on our next visit, as those sound equally enjoyable.

This was one of the most interesting tours I've taken anywhere in the past few years. It's definitely worth your time if you enjoy nature and the beauty of a sea-side national park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank G33ky_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome store / extremely knowledgable owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are visiting Bar Harbor/Acadia N.P. and into the nature scene, be sure to touch base with Rich and Natalie at the Natural History Center Store. They can set you straight on the best birding areas, best kayaking routes, and cool natural areas to check out that only locals will know about. If you need a field guide or other eco tool, they will have it at the shop.
Better yet, ask them for a guided tour to one of their favorite spots - Rich and Natalie will show you the best that MDI has to offer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DE-Touron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Natural History Center also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Natural History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing