We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!! Just what we wanted”
Review of Tide Watch Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tide Watch Cabins
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for four days on a two week trip from Wisconsin. I found it online and it appeared to be just what we were looking for. It was PERFECT!! Not fancy. Clean, quaint and had everything we needed. Perfect!! The Chart Room next door had great food! So easy to get to everywhere on the island. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cool143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Tide Watch Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved The Tide Watch Cabins right outside of Bar Harbor and right near the entrance to Acadia National Park. Each cabin has a little porch where you can sit and watch the tide go in and out. The rooms are neat and tidy and tiny. Just big enough for two. You can walk down to the beach and look for shells. really lovely.

Room Tip: We loved Cabin number 1
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I recently took our first trip to Maine and stayed at the Tide Watch Cabins (owned by the same people who own The Chart Room restaurant. We had been hiking and driving all day and checked in around 7:30 feeling mostly exhausted. I told Jeff that i would be back to pick something up to eat after we got settled into our cabin. He told me to call them and they would bring it right to our cabin! We were fully expecting lobster in to go containers, instead, the waiter brought us a fabulous Stuffed Lobster and make my mouth water Maine Scampi, n ot in styrofoam but on the restaurants dishes! He set a beautiful dinner on the picnic table out in front of the cabin, where we sat watching the sunset over Frenchman Bay, the tide come in all why we enjoyed this delicious feast! Thanks Chart Room! We'll DEFINATELY be back!

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank TinaSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Tide Watch was exactly what we were looking for! Wanted: Weekend in Bar Harbor, with my dog (35lb lab thing), close to Acadia National Park and the town of Bar Harbor for not a lot of $$ (law school students, we're broke).

We got in around 10pm Friday night, called and told them, and they said they'd most likely be there but if not light would be on and key in the door. They were up and waiting and we settled up that night ($55/night!! Not in season yet). Cabins are small, but cozy, clean, and in great shape. We were in the middle cabin in the back row (there are 2 rows, 2 in front, 3 in back) but could see the ocean and you are RIGHT ON THE OCEAN great views of the tides and there are chairs on your porch to hang out on. Very comfortable queen size beds with nice clean sheets and tons of pillows. Shower worked great (stand up, but still a decent size). There is a hair dryer, but I didn't use it. We had a small fridge, microwave, toaster, and coffee pot. The tide is incredible and there is a small beach to walk on right outside. Gas station across the street and we ate the Chart Room Saturday night.

Go to: Acadia! It was amazing. The weather was fantastic and we were pooped after. Bar Harbor is very dog friendly. Bark Harbor is a dog specialty store in town and they gave us a list of restaurants and lodging that were dog friendly, and I was pleasantly surprised at how many there were. Make sure you have breakfast at Jeannie's!! The Bull's Eye is delish!

Only Con: we decided late Saturday night that we were going to get up at 4:30 and drive to the top of Cadillac Mountain to watch the sunrise so we wanted to use the coffee pot in the morning, but there weren't any filters, and we didn't want to put grinds in without them, and figured it was pretty late and night to make such a minor request, but this is the only reason that there are 4/5 and it really wasn't that important.

Not really a con, but unexpected: the sun is BRIGHT when it rises at 5am in May. There is a thick curtain, and it would be weird to do anymore, but if you are a sensitive sleeper who wants to spend their vacation sleeping, bring a facemask.

Room Tip: The cabins are all very close to each other. I'm sure the 2 in front have the best view, but you...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ebber6655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

this was our first time to acadia and we were not disappointed! tide watch is within 5 minutes of acadia entrance and downtown quaint bar harbor.the cabins are perfect for a couple and if you are lucky enough to have a dog to bring exploring, they are welcome! there is a fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee pot in your cabin with gas grills located right outside for great waterfront dining if you want to cook or if you don't their restaurant is right on the property. everything is extremely clean and well maintained and terri jeff and staff will make you feel more than welcome..we plan on going back this fall for the foliage season. i almost forgot..the beds, linens and towels are top quality!

Room Tip: cabin # 4 and 5 are the waterfront cabins, 1,2, 3 slightly behind. $20.00 difference
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robtimes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We were delighted by the cozy cottage with wood walls, nice little patio/terrace that looks out on the water. Couldn't believe the pre-season price as we arrived mid-May before peak tourist season. Wish we could have stayed longer! The bed was comfortable, nice hot shower and we were surprised to see a phone in the room and a TV. It was a nice, cozy, welcoming feel in the cabin. You don't often find this type of cabin so clean and fresh smelling and well priced. Oh, there was also a very comfortable chair for watching TV (even though we did not do that) and the room even had a microwave and a fridge. Also, coffee maker, toaster, dresser. And free wireless Internet! All those perks but the most important factors were comfort, coziness, view and location. Superb!

Room Tip: Two cabins are directly on the water and three are just up above them with great views of the water...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

These cabins were really perfect as a base camp for us to explore Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. Having the cabin right on the water with a cute patio and beach access was a definite plus, but I really just liked the style of the cabins, the cozy beds and interior furnishings, the smell of cedar, and the convenient access to dining and hiking Acadia. To top it off, the owners were really helpful and responsive to all of our needs. One evening we returned from hiking with pizzas for dinner and the door lock was stuck for some reason. The owner Jeff rushed over from their restaurant next door and helped us "unstick" the lock and even re-heated our pizzas for us. He was totally willing to go above and beyond to make our stay great. We had a great time there and would definitely return. On the con side, the price was a little steep at over a hundred bucks a night for a cabin, but it seems everything in Bar Harbor is expensive. :-(

Room Tip: Cabin five is the best. It is one of two (4 and 5) directly on the water, but this one is in the co...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.2 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
428 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
684 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
0.1 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tide Watch Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tide Watch Cabins

Address: 585 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7456
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tide Watch Cabins Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing