We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see!”

Diver Ed's Dive-In Theater
Certificate of Excellence
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The reviews don't do this tour justice! Diver Ed, Captain Evil and their crew are amazing! We all learned so much on this trip! We were really impressed with the quality and clarity of Diver Ed's underwater camera. And even better, getting to touch some of the creatures he encountered in the water. We also enjoyed learning about the birds and wildlife in the area from the ranger on board. Don't miss out on a chance to see Diver Ed!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wherenext14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    12
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonham, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for children”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our group of 5 adults, a 2 year old and 4 month old went on a very cold day. Captain Evil (Mrs. Ed) greeted and graciously offered to refund the ticket cost for the little ones due to the cold and the somewhat choppy water. My wife was anxious about the cold and the choppy water but we all decided to go and had an enjoyable time in spite of the cold. The older children (4 to 12 or so) on the cruise seemed to have the most fun of all, but we adults had fun as well. Our boat trip did not go beyond the bay and so is not for those expecting to go out in the ocean. Also the water in the bay is not like the tropics. The water is dark and the sea creatures we saw included crabs, lobsters, sea cucumbers, anemones, and sea stars. The best part of the trip was when Captain Ed brought up many of the sea creatures in his bag up to the boat, discussed them, and then let everyone hold them. Captain Evil was nice enough to bring some of the animals to the back of the boat to show my wife who was holding the baby. Diver Ed and Captain Evil were very entertaining and we definitely enjoyed the trip, in spite of the cold.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveM027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kids loved it. Very educational.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What can I say about this tour that hasn't been said in other reviews?

More than anything else I appreciate Diver Ed's efforts to instill in young people a sense of connection to and responsibility for the natural world. By making the tour so fun and interesting while at the same time talking about basic principals of sustainability and good stewardship of the natural world Diver Ed is helping to instill in the next generation a love for our world that will guide them in making the right choices for our environment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Everyone - young and young at heart Enjoyed it”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Traveling with a 4 yr old, his Dad and the Grandparents, we all had a great time. We decided to take this trip after seeing it on TA and the recommendations from the visitors center in Bar Harbor. There was a national park ranger on board for the trip - she told us all about the area, the harbor and creatures in the water and around us. When it was time for Diver Ed, the kids absolutely loved it. We got to see lobsters, crabs, clams, mussels, etc...... We also got to touch them and see them up close. The time went by so fast. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sewfastnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have three small kids (9,7,5) - this was our first activity in Bar Harbor and it was just great. Diver Ed is funny and entertaining and the kids loved the whole thing. Very educational but light and funny and hands on. Definitely recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeB334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diver Ed's Dive-In Theater also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Diver Ed's Dive-In Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing