We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Educational”

Diver Ed's Dive-In Theater
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun and Educational”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Diver Ed's trip was a great experience for my 8 and 11 year old. Not only did they get to see the bottom of the bay through the camera lens with excellent narration by Diver Ed and Dr. Evil, but they were able to touch and get a close up look at the sea life. The tour is geared toward the younger set, but is enjoyable for adults as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chops9967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    11
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jtbldb
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fun for Young and Old”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went with a large group... 14 of us ranging in age from 65 to 10 months. We all thoroughly enjoyed Diver Ed and his shenanigans. He is funny and knowledgeable. The kids are learning about underwater creatures using all their senses while being totally entertained by Ed's potty humor (he shows the mouths and butts of all the creatures). Go, go, go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jtbldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best trip of the island”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family and I grew up in Maine and I am a certified diver but we all enjoyed and learned on the trip while having fun and laughing on Frenchman's Bay. Diver Ed, Captain Evil and the rest of the League of Underwater Super Hero's made a challenging and difficult job look easy with and sense of humor and warm and genuine wonder that is missing from most vacation experiences. Half the passengers were repeats some for the third and forth times. Pricey but well worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marque10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique, educational experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you visit Mt. Desert Island, this is must-do, especially for kids do all ages. We had so much fun enjoying views of Acadia, on the way to the dive site. Diver Ed and his lovely family made us all feel special. It well exceeded our expectations. He dove while his wife gave a comical narrative,then brought the sea life up to the boat and set up a few touch tanks...sea stars, seas urchins, sea cucumbers, lobsters, crabs etc. At points Ed had us laughing so much we were in tears. Don't miss this!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fun even for teens and parents”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The whole crew was amazing, boat was very entertaining and informational. Ed is amazing with kids, and pulls off goofy well. By far best thing to do in bar harbor. You must get on board!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rangrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diver Ed's Dive-In Theater also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Diver Ed's Dive-In Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing