We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice environment and good food”
Review of Side Street cafe

Side Street cafe
Ranked #11 of 148 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice environment and good food”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The food did not live up to all the other reviews we read, but it was good. The guacamole didn't use fresh avo, and the lobster dishes were ok, but nothing great. The service was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RawDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,566
    870
    281
    78
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Awesome Place to Eat after Kayaking”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were referred here after going sea kayaking with Coastal Kayaking Tours. They had excellent margaritas, and their burgers were quite good as well. Great atmosphere too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank apdemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tough lobster meal”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Seems to be always crowded. Easier to find seats in the bar. They don't take reservations, but do take call aheads. Service was okay, however, the lobster was a little tough. We had a lobster roll and the Lazy Man's lobster (lobster that has been picked out of the shell). Not sure why this keeps getting such high reviews.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank peamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Go where Locals hang”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This restaurant on a side street, has a nice outside deck, with a bar type railing seating to watch the ongoing activity on the street. Nice beer selection, friendly staff and service. Our hotel staff recommended this place when we arrived at 8 pm and I'm so glad they did!! Big menu to chose from, something for everyone!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Basset_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, PA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go before Happy Hour or be prepared for a noisy atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We did not have to wait for a table, we arrived around 5:30. The service was very good, and my husband's lobster Mac and cheese was excellent. I got lazy man's lobster (taken out of the shell for you) and it was so tough that I needed a steak knife to cut it!

Also, although we were seated in the dining area, the noise from the bar and deck was deafening and irritating. If we were just there for drinks, it would have been fine, but the atmosphere was not what we were looking for and our bill was almost $60 for two dinners and a single glass of wine which is comparable to much nicer restaurants in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatboy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Side Street cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing