We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun & Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Side Street cafe

Side Street cafe
Ranked #10 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun & Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

AMAZING! Thanks Yelp, for all your help!

We had a wonderful server, Sam, who was so friendly and nice.

We ended up getting two beers (Atlantic Ale and BH True Blue) - great beers, great prices.

Black Bean Bisque - best I've ever had, and I love love love BB soup.
Lobster Mac w/Roasted Veggies and Mushrooms - they have so many Mac choices, but we loved ours. We shared a half portion - it was very rich, and I can't imagine being able to eat a whole one. The "half" was about 6 in across.
Nomad (BB burger, no bacon, on ciabatta) - this BB patty was delightful and clearly fresh and homemade. We enjoyed the avocado and the bread was amazing.

Clean place w/lots of colorful paint and playful tables.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,409
    802
    256
    69
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alfred, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We go back every year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Every year when we visit Bar Harbor we make it a point to go back to Side Street, this year we ate there three times!
We really enjoy their unique menu and their great atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lobster roll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Large portions, loud and friendly. Got to keep half our food for lunch for the next day. Maine beer selection is a little disappointing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lady_winter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Solid but unspectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Family of five visited for a casual but good dinner after a day of hiking and exploring at Acadia. The food was good (not great). Service was average and not particularly attentive for drink refills or status checks. We ordered soups, salads, burgers and Mac and cheese. All solid but nothing noteworthy. The buffalo chicken and chips appetizer was tasty and the blueberry basil margarita was a unique offering.
We ate inside. The dining room is small and a bit loud. There's a small patio out front as well.
Worth a visit for a casual meal, but not sure it deserves a top-6 ranking among restaurants in BH.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mtndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Last night, last meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Great food, very good drinks especially during happy hour. Well worth a visit. Sit on thw outdoor porch and enjoy the yraffic with a drink and appetizer.

Helpful?
Thank Parker M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Side Street cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing