We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's where the locals go! Hello...”
Review of Side Street cafe

Side Street cafe
Ranked #11 of 148 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
bar harbor maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's where the locals go! Hello...”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Great food great drinks!! Wonderful atmosphere! Best food in town. Try there salads and deserts. Always healthy and yummy!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bfizzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,567
    870
    281
    78
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lobster stew to die for!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I stopped in here on recommendation from a fellow ship passenger on a Holland America Montreal-Boston cruise. We are really glad we did! A very popular yet cozy and quaint hodge-podge of a restaurant layout. I think a converted house with inside seating options as well as outside decks. My wife had an incredible seafood platter topped with a large lobster, clams, crabs, fresh corn on cob, etc.. Quite a colorful plateful! I ordered the lobster stew which was out of this world! Luscious, meaty, buttery goodness. wow! Get it and enjoy! They are also known for their margueritas. It's a lot of fun to spend some time chilling and munching!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Laid back and tasty”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a great place to stop in Bar Harbor, especially because they allow dogs on their deck. They advertise that their lobster was swimming that morning it's so fresh and it really tasted good. Their clam chowder was incredible as well. The sandwiches were excellent as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Starloverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I traveled with my boyfriend to Bar Harbor for a weekend winter getaway. There are not too many places open off season, but we were very lucky this was one of them. We actually ended up eating here both nights we were in town because my boyfriend could not stop thinking about the buffalo chicken dip we had on our first visit. The bartenders were perfectly attentive, the food was great, and they have a terrific selection of local beer and creative mixed drinks. I would definitely return the next time I am in Bar Harbor.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sssssteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Tasty treats where the locals eat”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We made an off-season trip to Bar Harbor, and our B&B hosts recommended this place. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, with several standout dishes. If it's on the menu, make sure to have a cup or bowl of the best (no kidding, and we live in Maine!) lobster stew ever: simply lots of lobster, cream, and sherry. Several of us enjoyed mac-and-cheese optional versions [one with artichoke and olive: nice combo.] Nothing pretentious here, just good flavors well-presented. And a much more interesting wine list than might have been expected. And to close, when one of us wanted just a small bite of something chocolate…our server returned with a single truffle!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Side Street cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing