We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Side Street cafe

Side Street cafe
Ranked #10 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Excellent menu. Visited several times and everything is very tasty, well prepared. Excellent burgers, and you can get lobster with just about anything!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,407
    801
    256
    69
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Big portions, good but standard food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Friendly service, big portions, but didn't think anything was amazing. We got the lobster mac & cheese, burger, guac.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lethricester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A fun spot with great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had dinner here one night and it was worth the wait for a table.
Excellent Lobster Roll and Lobster Mac n Cheese.
Setting is very nice, but a bit noisy. Lots of choices on the menu.
The night we went was very busy and they wouldn't take a reservation over the phone, but if you walk down and put your name on the seating list they will text or call when your table is ready so you can walk around Bar Harbor while you wait! Worked perfectly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spec_ops007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
1 review
“One of the best Lobster Stew!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had mussels and steamers, but there weren't as fresh as I hoped for. However, the Lobster Stew was excellent! Maybe I should have ordered other entrees instead of mussels and steamers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
282 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Decent Spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a nice location with a great outdoor deck facing the street and wrapping around the side. On our first visit we sat on stools facing the street, and just had a couple of beers after a few hours of kayaking. The place has a relaxed ambience, and the deck is a nice place to chat with other patrons. We didn't eat, but the girls sitting next to us had the guacamole and lobster nacho dish, which looked amazing, and they were loving it. However, it was better for drinks than dinner. We went here on a rainy night for dinner the next day, and the restaurant was completely slammed and seemed to crack under the pressure. The estimated 45 minute wait turned into over an hour and a half. Once finally seated, dinner was prompt but just ok. My husband enjoyed the lobster mac and cheese and the lobster stew. My black bean wrap was fine but they forgot to dress it so I had to ask for the dressing. The beet and goat cheese salad I started with was nice. Overall dinner was ok but not sure why it gets such extremely high ratings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris72206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Side Street cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing