We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative delecious options”
Review of Side Street cafe

Side Street cafe
Ranked #11 of 148 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Creative delecious options”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Fun atmosphere. Delicious mac and cheese make your own options. Excellent clam chowder and lobster roll.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,573
    871
    281
    78
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
663 reviews
450 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
“Not as good as first time but great service and drinks!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Second time around and it was okay, not as good as the first time. Although the Apple Cider Margarita hit the spot. However the lobster mac and cheese was topped with the most putrid smelling parmesan it made me gag. I mean it smelled like a combination 1 week old socks and dirty laundry combined and I consider myself a cheese lover. I ate the mac and cheese around this nasty smelling cheese but it really turned me off to the whole meal. Still service here is friendly and the place is nice but call ahead on Saturdays since there is like an hour and half wait. Prices are always reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeni2jena, Owner at Side Street cafe, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for visiting us again and for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you loved the Apple Cider Margarita (a personal favorite,) but am sorry to read about your experience with the parmesan cheese. We take all of our reviews seriously and have discussed this with our General/Kitchen Manager. While many customers have commented on enjoying that cheese, I can see how it could be too strong for others. If you join us again for our Mac and Cheese please request that we don't put that cheese on for you. In addition, if you EVER have a problem at Side Street Cafe we would love to be able to address it, and as you mentioned we are friendly, so we would gladly fix any problem on the spot. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
“Simple with quality”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The menu of Side Street Café consists of simple not to difficult dishes, like stir fry, lobster, sandwiches and burgers, but the quality is amazing. Our stir fry with chicken and BLAT with chicken were very well prepared and tasteful. As dessert we had the blueberry pie and coffee, nice strong coffee as we like it and although the pie was not served warm as we requested it was tasty. Side Street Café is a relaxing place serving simple comfort food of high quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noortje1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun, relax, and good food and drinks. Best bloody marys ever!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed side street cafe after a long day of hiking in Acadia. Good food and wonderful cocktails. Husband said the bloody marys were the best he's ever had. The bartender Justin (I think I remembered that correctly) was great. Margeritas are yummy along with a plate of nachos. The whole staff is friendly and service with a smile. We actually returned the next day for lunch before heading out of town. Burgers were awesome.

Give side street cafe a visit and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staci A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus MA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent cocktails and martinis”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The drinks are very well made with some different choices. The apps and dinners were good size but run of the mill. Service was very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank billm2656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Side Street cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing