We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster stew awesome!”
Review of Side Street cafe

Side Street cafe
Ranked #11 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lobster stew awesome!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice location, but obviously popular amongst locals and tourists..lobster stew was yummy! I had the nomad which was great as well, staff friendly, accurate with wait times..no complaints here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,468
    827
    266
    74
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good spot for a casual meal”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stopped in here for dinner on a Friday night -- the energy level is very high, and very positive -- it was a fun spot. The food was "pub fare" -- and very good. I had a delicious burger with feta cheese -- it was great. My husband had a lobster roll, and it was a bit of a disappointment. Maybe we just were there on a bad night, but as Mainers we have very high standards and the lobster roll was not as we had hoped. We had a fine meal, and it was fine for a Friday night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, attentive staff, fair price”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had the pulled pork and Northern Cuban sandwiches. Both were delicious! Our server was attentive and the food was delivered surprisingly fast!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chica717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Been coming to Bar Harbor for many years and I believe that this restaurant is new for 2013. Menu has everything from sandwiches to entrees. The greek grilled chicken sandwich was incredible with feta cheese,greens,greek dressing and grilled chicken on ciabata. Restaurant was crowded but still managed to convey a very nice ambiance. Will definitely go back next trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a fun and tasty lobster dinner”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We found this place while we were visiting Maine, and searching for a traditional lobster dinner. It's located in Bar Harbor proper, and not along the highway. It seems like the lobster pounds along route 3 might be more "authentic" but Side Street gets their lobster fresh and serves with corn and steamers, just like the other places, with the added bonus of offering a full menu, a warm and stylish atmosphere, a full bar, and great staff. We had so much fun enjoying our meals there, and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MasonZ167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Side Street cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing