We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good cafe food in a locals friendly place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Side Street cafe

Side Street cafe
Ranked #10 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Windham NH
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good cafe food in a locals friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Even in March this was busy, mostly with locals. A fairly young crowd with some good music and great food and coffee. The steak sub and macaroni and cheese were worth the visit. Very fun and yummy.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tsorfydde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,385
    791
    255
    69
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun, Delicious Comfort Food with a Flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've visited Side Street Cafe more than a dozen times over the past years and it never disappoints except when I forget to make a reservation and cannot get in (height of tourist season). A favorite of locals, the Cafe is a great place for dates and families. All of the tables are covered with fun "distractions" including "games" or t.v. nostalgia to keep conversations lively.

The menu features a huge and eclectic selection of dishes ranging from Mid-Eastern, to Asian to "American" fare. Vegetarians and "carnivores" alike will be happy. You can be assured that everything is fresh and healthily prepared. If you enjoy lobster, their lobster rolls are the BESTon the island. Heaped with freshly caught lobster, the rolls are prepared in different styles (offered on the same plate). Portions are generous.

If you enjoy cocktails, you will like their imaginative concoctions with "quirky" names e.g. Darrell and Darrell (or something like this alluding to the "brothers Darrell" of Bob Newhart Show fame).

Dress casually. You can also sit on the "covered" lanai but it gets chilly. One of the best things about dining here is the parking out back - you will not have to vye for street parking which is a big plus. Make reservations. Oh... and if you are hoping for an intimate dinner for two, you will receive a lively experience instead. It does get much quieter after tourist season or after the 4th of July (when there is a slight lull before the next bout of tourists arrive). Side Street Cafe is a lovely place to dine when you just want to eat delicious and well-prepared comfort food with a flair.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
201 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“more than a refuge from a snowstorm.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The side street cafe is a must visit due to the variety of food, the freshness and the quality of produce/presentation. We originally happened upon this small cozy place to seek refuge from a snowstorm and a long day of hiking and ended up with an unbelievable selection of beverages and food choices from appetizers, create your own to 3 star dinners...homemade hummus and tapenade with pita; hoisin chicken over mashed potato with roasted vegetables; salads with fresh roasted red peppers and feta; specials each night and happy hour for 1/2 priced wine/ale or magaritas. Our waitress , Flynn, was an added bonus in that she was attentive, gave recommendations and was friendly, but not overpowering. We ended up going back four nights in a row and had wonderful meals each time. By the time we left we felt like locals and we cannot wait to try new meals there on our next visit.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was born in bar harbor and we decide to check out this rest. it was one of the best meals i have had in a very long time. I had the ribs and my wife had the rib eye and both meals was outstanding. their is only a hand full of rest in bar harbor that i eat at and this one is one of them. If you want a good meal at a fair price in bar harbor then this is one spot you want to hit when you are in bar harbor. side street cafe is a great place to take you wife and/ or family for a nice meal to talk and share time with each other. the staff was great, take it from someone born and still in bar harbor this is a to eat. if you can see the fire station you will be able to see rodick st and it right next door to pat's pizza. AAAAAAA+++++

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“THE place to eat in Bar Harbor! Suitable for families, couples, and all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I lived in Bar Harbor for a summer and out of every place I visited for dining out, this one reigns supreme! The staff is so courteous and sweet, the place is so homey (it was formally an actual home!), and the food AND drinks are out of this world. I've never been to a place that has such a blend of both quality and originality into their work. They also have great local artists for some easy listening- nothing to hippie and awkward. Absolutely amazing!

The only thing I dislike about this place is their distaste for tourists. You don't notice unless you follow their social media. That is a weird factor to point out, but as a person who doesnt permanently live BH and is considered a tourist, it's almost rude (let me just mention that if it wasnt for tourists, that whole town wouldnt be thriving as it is).

Other than that though, just basing it on it's restaurant qualities, it's on the A team. And I recommend the NOMAD BURGER and blueberry mojito. ABSOLUTELY incredible!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Side Street cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing