We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mac & Cheese” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Side Street cafe

Side Street cafe
Ranked #10 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Mac & Cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Side Street Cafe is a cute little restaurant located in the heart of town. The menu offers delicious dishes that range from seafood to all-american cuisine. They have a wonderful bar selection and some of the drinks are served in small jars.

This is a wonderful place to eat if you're a vegetarian like I am. I often get the Mac & Cheese, which taste delicious and is a good size. Side Street offers nighttime entertainment such as folk and rock music. The bands are all local and the place is crowded during these nights.

The owners of this small place are very nice and interact with their customers. They have a great reputation in the community and last holiday they even provided free meals to families in need, which was very thoughtful. Side Street has multiple awards from the Bar Harbor Times, such as, "Best Chef", "Best Lobster Roll", and "Best Hamburger".

I recommend spending an afternoon or evening at Side Street. I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,400
    798
    255
    69
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved the Mac and Cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place is busy at lunch time when cruise ships are in town so be ready to wait, but it is worth the wait. The menu has a lot of great choices including a design your own mac and cheese that is awesome. They also have a good selection of Maine beers. Great food and great service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You Won't be Disapponted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Nice place for a casual lunch or dinner. The menu has a good selection of reasonalbly priced items with something for everyone. Quality food with friendly efficient service in a cozy and comfortable atmosphere. If you are there during blueberry season, get the home made blueberry pie ala mode. It is worth making a special trip there just for the pie.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

One of our favorite casual spots for lunch or dinner. They have a good local beer selection. They also had Mac and cheese menu, which was pretty cool. We did not get the lobster mac and cheese, but instead opted for the lobster roll, which was a meal in itself! Quality food and really good portions. A great,great casual spot in Bar Harbor. Friendly, fast service. Don't miss it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dude_and_Dudas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I want more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was probably my favorite place to eat during our stay in Bar Harbor. In fact I wish we had come back for dinner. The lively colors, friendly staff and surprisingly good music were refreshing. I had a black bean and jalapeno soup and the lobster quesadilla both of which were fantastic. The hubby had one of their specials that day call “the local burger”. It was made with local pork, beef and lobster meat and was INCREDIBLE. It sounded weird, but it really was fantastic. Even their fries (which were more like crispy potato wedges) were amazing. The beer selection was quite large and I loved that they had tons of local brews to try out. The prices were also great – they offer a $5 dollar discount on lobster lunches.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inferno2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Side Street cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing