We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A very nice property within walking distance of downtown and very close to Acadia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very nice property within walking distance of downtown and very close to Acadia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Our family of 3 stayed here for 3 nights in August 2014 during a visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The room was on the first floor and had a nice convenient parking space right outside the door. There is also a second floor with steps to a walkway at the back of the building where you will find access to the 2nd floor rooms. This faces a somewhat dark wooded area at the back of the property and you may want to ask for 1st floor if this is an issue to you. On the plus side, these rooms have a private balcony. Our room provided ample space with very comfortable beds and pillows. The bathroom is pretty small, but I traveled with my wife and daughter and it was never too much of an issue. There is a decent-sized in-room safe which is a plus for securing your valuable electronics when venturing into town. I highly recommend walking into town rather than driving as the walk is not that far and traffic and parking in town is a real bear. A drive straight down Kebo Street (which is the one in front of the hotel) will get you to the Park Loop Drive only a couple miles away. In the morning, there is a building across the street offering a very nice breakfast buffet that has enough variety to satisfy almost anyone. The nice thing is that there is tons of seating and we never had an issue finding a table whenever we went (unlike many other places we've stayed). Food and beverage were constantly replenished and we never had to wait. Just make sure you leave a tip for the staff in the jar on your way out.

I had originally booked another hotel several miles outside of town and after realizing I had booked the wrong dates, had to find another hotel. I am so happy I made the mistake as the location of Quality Inn was so much more convenient. You absolutely cannot go wrong by staying here if value AND convenience are your concerns when staying in Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor in them main building for convenient parking directly outside of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    87
    51
    15
    2
See reviews for
81
100
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The location on Kebo Street was excellent for a brief walk to the harbor. It is very close to Acadia National Park entrances, plus for us. Just a scenic drive on a coastal road from the hotel. Rooms tended to be small, but adequate and very clean. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was as most Choice Hotels offer, good and hot and quick. Dining areas were clean and assistants helpful, refilling chafing dishes often.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed two nights in the Bar Harbor Quality Inn. The location was convenient and price was reasonable. It was close to downtown but away from the noise of downtown. Acadia National Park entrance only minutes away!

Room Tip: Rooms were fairly sound proof! Our room was on the backside which backed to woods (away from the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer City, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The "Villas" are well equipped efficiencies in a quiet location. Reasonably priced, quiet and comfortable, free breakfast buffet very good, staff very accommodating. Very short walk to the downtown area made the 3 day stay wonderful!

Room Tip: Recommend a "Villa", a bit more expensive but worth it if you are staying a few days
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed 2 nights in this motel in June 2014. The room was comfortable and well equipped, with fridge and microwave. I liked being on the second floor since it offers a private balcony. Complimentary breakfast offered plenty for most appetites. And the staff was as helpful they could be - don't forget to leave a tip!

Oh, and there's a coin-operated laundry on the premises.

Though I didn't get the chance, it looked like a very easy walk into the "downtown" Bar Harbor.

I stopped short of the highest rating since entry to the room was along a dark exposed walkway that faced the woods. I was pretty comfortable with that since it's a resort town and presumably low crime. However, more skittish folks may want to take note and opt for the first floor which you'd enter from the parking lot.

Room Tip: Floor 1 gives direct access to parking lot. Floor 2 gives you a balcony. I was toward the end and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ham4Him
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

A very good venue for the price. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was advertised as small, but was a bit smaller than we thought. Quality of the room air conditioner was questionable, and the tub shower drained very slowly so that you were always standing in water. Overall however, our experience at this hotel was quite pleasurable. :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTwoGuests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We camped in the rain the night before, but wanted to see Acadia in good weather, so we looked for a room our second day in the area. The Quality Inn allowed us to check in early, which was a blessing on a miserable day. The door didn't close properly, which worried me a bit but was no problem. The room was clean and comfortable. After seeing rave reviews about the breakfast, I was a little disappointed, but it was OK.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank THeath11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
0.5 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#36 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 40 Kebo St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located within walking distance of downtown and also conveniently located near Acadia National Park. We have some great family activities daily in July and August and at other times. Lots to do while in our area! We do not accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Bar Harbor
Quality Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Bar Harbor Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing