We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonerful little cottage set in the woods”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CA45
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonerful little cottage set in the woods”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

A great find just minutes from Bar Harbor. Great for a couple. Has easy access to Acadia national Park & surrounding area. It's a beautiful little cottage with a full kitchen and bathroom. Enjoy the quiet without the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor. Just note, there is no laundry facility. One has to use the coin wash in town. Would definitely return to this establishment again. Enjoyed our stay at the Acorn Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: No laundry facility on site
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Thanks for visiting Acorn Cottage -- come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmd33369
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming cottage in ideal location.”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in Acorn Cottage at the end of August. The cottage was charming and well maintained, and the lessors were responsive, organized and easy to communicate with. We felt very at home during our stay. We loved the location, which was between town and an entrance into Acadia, so we could easily access both. We live in a city, so appreciated being away from town, but liked the fact that we could easily walk there to eat, shop, etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: charming, comfortable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Thanks -- glad you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liasnan
Topsham, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5th stay and it was just as perfect as the first. We will keep going back! Feels like home, or maybe even better.”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This little cottage is perfect for two people, so comfortable and convenient to everything. We have stayed 5 times, this year we went twice. Mary & Tom are so wonderful and accommodating. It's clean, comfortable, quaint, cozy, and perfect in every way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Thanks -- we always love having you come back to your place in Bar Harbor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
329far51
Norwood, MA
2 reviews
“The best of Bar Harbor”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Acorn Cottage is perfectly located to enjoy all that Bar Harbor has to offer. It is walking distance to the town where there are great little shops, a lot of restaurants and a beautiful harbor. It is also close to Acadia National Park which is a great place to hike or bike.
The cottage was very well stocked with everything you could need such as paper goods, spices, towels, etc. We loved the gas stove on chilly mornings and evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how the cottage was decorated
Liked least: not having a washing machine
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Thanks for taking time to report on Acorn Cottage -- hope you can return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nate C
Carlisle
2 reviews
“Great getaway close to town!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I stayed a week at Acorn Cottage and couldn't be more pleased with our decision. If you are after a place that offers a bit of solitude yet convenience to the park and Bar Harbor, you can't find a better place. We can't wait to make another trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
We built Acorn for you -- come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Glad you found us -- come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ
Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Thanks, NJ -- see you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing