We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“History extraordinare at Vanderbilt Lodge”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, Maine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pam W
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“History extraordinare at Vanderbilt Lodge”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This fantastic piece of amazing history is also a warm, comfortable and elegant home. George Vanderbilt of the North Carolina Biltmore Estate fame and Fredrick Law Olmsted of New Yorks Central Park, Acadia National Park and Jackson Park in Chicago are the owner and land planner for this property in the 1890's. Vanderbilts summer estate included his hunting lodge and it is the only remaining structure from that time. Recently renovated, it is rented by the week. Beautiful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Thanks for the nice report, Pam. Hope you can return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam W
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and total renovation”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

With a huge renovation and completely new systems, the change is dramatic. I've stayed at the Vanderbilt Lodge this summer and a few years ago, the transformation is incredible. The location is excellent with access to the town minutes walk away, a park like setting, a pier and tennis court on the property and a stream and tiny waterfall outside the back porch. This historic home is comfortable but sophisticated, with elegant collections in a relaxing environment. My family had a great experience and will return in years to come.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
Thanks--your review is especially pertinent considering your previous visits to this cottage. Hope you can return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant746
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staying at the Historic Vanderbilt Lodge”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at this very nice comfortable property the end of May-first of June. The weather cooperated with bright sunny days and nights cool enough for wood burning fires. There's a large kitchen, we cooked lobsters, and lots of interior space.The property is like a park and has a tennis court.
It;s a short walk into Bar Harbor and all it has to offer. Your surrounded by Acadia National Park and close to Cadillac Mountain. I'm sure we will be going back there agin.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
Thanks, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to this unique property. Hope you can return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gjm869
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely home; nicely furnished; close to attractions of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I spent a weekend in September at the Vanderbilt Lodge. It was the perfect place to stay while enjoying the restaurants and shopping of Bar Harbor, and the magnificence of Acadia National Park. The home is nicely appointed and furnished in a style consistent with the period in which the home was built. We played tennis on the well maintained tennis court, and walked to Bar Harbor. If our stay had been longer, we would have been able to enjoy other amenities of the Lodge, such as a pleasant screened in porch; fully functional and updated kitchen, and access to the shorefront. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit--hope you have more time to explore the property on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artbylt
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location and setting perfect--house comfortable.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with my sister, daughter, and 15-year-old granddaughter. Location and setting perfect--close to town while in the woods with a short walk to dock and water, beautiful tennis court at edge of back yard. Saw lots of deer and a red fox. My daughter and granddaughter thought the house was perfect. My sister and I would have liked more modernization and better maintenance. But all beds comfortable, plenty of room, big kitchen. Large fascinating art collection. In short, the house has character.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson Ma
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2014
Sorry you didn't find the Lodge in as good shape as in previous years--the property was indeed in transition last season, as the main house was sold and there was a need to store the furnishings in trucks nearby (not an ideal solution, but necessary at the time). The owners placed some of the nicest furniture from the big house in the Lodge, including some nice artworks. Sorry if it seemed like storage, but they were trying to upgrade older items. And sorry also that the grounds were in need of grooming--we had a lot of rain in July and the care-taking was more difficult than usual. Overall maintenance and care-taking should be improved in 2014. Thanks for the feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing