We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect cottage, location, and price!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emery's Cottages on the Shore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, location, and price!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We will definitely return to Emery's. This place was exactly what we wanted for our week in Bar Harbor. It was close to town, but off the beaten path. It was very quiet and peaceful, and right on the ocean. The cottages were private, perfectly clean, and affordable. The hosts were friendly and willing to give us the lay of the land around Bar Harbor.

The property had everything we needed. We opted for a cottage without kitchenette, but learned when we arrived that there's a community kitchen that was a very short walk from our cottage. There was coin-op laundry, morning coffee, gas grills, and waterfront seating.

We even saw a bull moose!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Emery's cottages in August. We were able to leave our kayaks right on the property and take them out on the ocean very easily. The grills on the beach made it easy to cook our own meals. The cottages were very clean. We plan on going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, PA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our 5 night stay at Emery's. Our cottage was mid-sized with a well stocked kitchenette and delightful view of the water. The decor could use some updating but it was very clean. The whole property is well tended, immaculately kept and attention to detail for the guests enjoyment is obvious. One of our favorite memories of the trip is sitting on the lounge chairs by the water reading and watching the seal in the afternoon and the brilliant stars at night. The owner's were very helpful with suggestions - be sure to stop by Udder Heaven for some awesome ice cream!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were lucky enough to get a one-night stay at Emery's and it was great. The cottage was small but clean, well-appointed, and smelled of the sea breeze blowing in. There was a great deck that overlooked the bay and we watched a magnificent sunset. Although there was no kitchen en suite, there was a communal kitchen where we cooked our dinner. Some cottages do come with their own kitchens but ours did not. The staff was very friendly and so were the other folks staying there. The bed was very comfortable.Windows on all sides allowed the breeze to blow through. And the coffee in the morning (they had milk but no cream), which was available at a separate cottage was a real plus. Would definitely recommend for a night or even a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage close to the water,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We absolutely loved the week we spent at Emery's. Although we booked one of the smaller cottages, we still managed to have plenty of space for our things, a fantastic view, and a very relaxed time. We really appreciated having a community kitchen available as well as a mini-fridge, as it made the cost of food for the week significantly cheaper. Since the cottages were not on a main road, there was no other noise except for the occasional bird or wave in the ocean. The staff was very friendly and the entire place was very clean. We absolutely recommend Emery's to anyone headed to the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Not sure Emerys needs any more great reviews but had to add my two cents. We just spend several days in one of the cottages. The location is great..away from the main highway so no road noise..a pebble beach on the property where you can sit and relax. The cottages are simple but very clean and well maintained. All the basics including a kitchen. You are close to all the main attraction of Acadia park and Bar Harbor. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wxman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here last week (July 2012). If you are coming to Bar Harbor for relaxation and appreciate the outdoors, this is the place. The owners have the right recipe for convenience, service and simplicity. The cottage (with kitchenette), king size bed, and bathroom was comfortable and rustic at the same time. The site provides grills, utensils, picnic tables, kitchen and lobster pots for those meals you want to cook. The bayside venue provides beauty, serenity and and a great backdrop for breakfast, lunch or dinner and drinks ( complete with beautiful sunsets). Fresh towels daily and light housekeeping.
Launch your own kayak into Frenchman's Bay or look for interesting rocks on the shore. Very convenient to the park entrance and town of Bar Harbor.
Very helpful owners onsite.

This site is worth a return visit. We met folks who have been returning for several years.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage 1 and found it comfortable and conviently located to the morning coffee pot, ic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madge16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
4.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
625 reviews
3.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
341 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
3.9 mi away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emery's Cottages on the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emery's Cottages on the Shore

Property: Emery's Cottages on the Shore
Address: 181 Sand Point Rd, PO Box 172, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7559
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Emery`s Cottages On The Shore Hotel Bar Harbor
Emery's Cottages On The Shore Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing