We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but we were misled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This was an adequate motel in a great location in the middle of Bar Harbor. At $162 I found it very expensive, but then so are all lodgings in Bar Harbor. The "breakfast" they advertised was coffee and a small Little Debbie muffin wrapped in plastic. My main complaint is that I asked about the availability of internet both when I called and when we checked in. It was the only thing really important to us. Both times I was enthusiastically told they had it. Well, THEY had internet in the separate office building, but unless your room was on their side of the building, YOU didn't get internet. We called and were told we could bring our computers to the office where we could pick it up. Working in their office wasn't acceptable. We asked to change rooms, but they didn't have empty ones on their side of the building. It was after 9PM, and finding another room with internet in Bar Harbor at that hour was not likely. I feel we were misled.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mycherona, Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2010

Our apologies for the confusion regarding the wireless internet. Just to clarify, we only advertise that we have wireless internet available *on the property*, which is true. We do NOT advertise that we have wireless internet available in the guest rooms, because it doesn't currently reach to every room, and this is something we are working on. If we were asked, "do you have wireless internet?", we would say "yes". If we were asked "do you have wireless internet in the rooms?", we would have definitely mentioned that it is not available in all rooms and made every effort to accommodate this need prior to your arrival. We also do not advertise a breakfast - it is always specified whether booking online or over the phone that the offerings in the morning are simply coffee/tea/muffins as we do not have enough space for an actual breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 653 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

This was our 2nd time at the Villager. First time was 4 yrs ago, same weekend, right after July 4th. That time we walked in and got a room, for only about $120.
This time we booked a package online, including dinner at Bar Harbor Inn (amazing lobster dinner outside, with unbeatable views) 2 breakfasts at same, and either a cruise on a 4 masted schooner or 3 hr narrated tour of Acadia Natl Park. We chose the tour and it was really good.
The motel is clean, has a nice pool, is right downtown, so you can walk everywhere. Other guests were friendly motorcyclists and people from all over.
We will stay there again and NOT wait 4 yrs to go back. Rates were $159/night, but it was cheaper to buy the dinner/breakfast/tour package, since you should do that stuff anyway.
The bed was super comfortable too, which is important.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arb1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

No matter when you arrive the staff (Helen and/or Jan) will always greet you with enthusiasm and a smile. Quick to help you find your way and give awesome recomendations on what to do and where to eat which the results are never disapointing.

The rooms are generally spacious and very clean and the beds are cozy and comfy and you won't empty your vacation budget either.

Every year I go and every year I make sure I stay there...no matter what.


Enjoy your stay.

Jim Patch

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank der j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Mirakami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisefreund2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Address: 207 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1745
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $127 - $1,087 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Villager Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, affordable lodging with modern amenities conveniently located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bar Harbor Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Villager Motel Bar Harbor
Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Villager Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing