We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Calais,Me
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Convenient!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotel clean and very convenient! It was so nice to be able to walk to all the stores and any restaurant from here. We walked to one of the waterfront restaurants and were able to have a few glasses of wine and not worrying about driving.Staff very helpful and they have a very nice breakfast in the morning.Great stop over and very reasonable price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    264
    46
    5
    4
See reviews for
195
273
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Bar Harbor Villager. The location was in walking distance to town, the continental breakfast had all we needed to get started for the day and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENWICH
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It is a clean hotel. The rooms are comfy. They have a great continental breakfast. They even have little tables outside the Continental Breakfast room where you can sit outside and read or just enjoy the sunshine and visit with friends.

Room Tip: I didn't use the fitness center and there is no restaurant on site but there is plenty of them w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paddler256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, ME
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife & I have stayed here many times and found the location perfect for walking tours of the town. The rates are very good and this year we noticed the nice upgrades to the room and the addition of a separate eating area for the continental breakfast they include in the room rate. Best of all, the staff is always friendly and accommodating. Somehow we managed to leave our laptop computer in the room when we left. They quickly notified us of the problem and offered to package it up and send it to our home. We decided to drive the two hours back there to pick it up and thank the staff for being so efficient and honest (visiting Bar Harbor for any reason is always a great experience). Our advice to you is to stay here, park your car and enjoy all that Bar Harbor has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were looking for a one-night stay during the Memorial Day weekend and found this charming, clean, and well appointed motel right in downtown Bar Harbor. Staff were friendly and helpful and off-street parking provided. We were able to walk all over town, shop and dine without the usual parking problems. Breakfast was good and tasty, but lacked hot items like scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, etc. Too early for the outdoor pool but it did look tempting. I will look for this spot on my next visit and will recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Mathieu-du-Parc, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and myself wanted to spend a quiet week-end at our preferred place in Bar Harbor, Maine.

Each year, we reserve the same room, since the beginnings.

This year, we were bothered by so much noise that we are not sure to go back again. We cut our stay at 3 nights even if we had reserved for 4 nights since January 2013.

We wanted to de-compress, not to hear humming all night long plus the damn compressor, outside, starting early in the morning, including Sunday, for cleaning the pool.

Somebody there had a lack of common sense, having the pool cleaned when the motels were full of customers.

It would have make sense for me that those works had been done BEFORE opening the place to the public.

I understand that there is many positive factors, at the Villager, normally, but, this year, it was terrible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaitlinMeredith, General Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bar Harbor Villager Motel. We are sad to hear that you did not find your stay enjoyable. I remember speaking with you while you were here regarding the ice machines, which we made sure to unplug each night so they would not disturb you. Regarding the compressor noise, it was a pressure washer that we were using at the pool, but I made sure that they did not start this until after 10 AM so as not to disturb any guests. I remember that we even asked them to stop at about noontime one day per your request, and I made sure that they did not do any more pressure washing until after you checked out. These were the only noise issues that I was aware of, and I thought that we did everything possible to eliminate them for you. In the future, I would be happy to suggest a few different room options which I believe would be much quieter for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Bar Harbor Villager is a must if you are looking to stay at an affordable place located in the heart of town. While it definitely has the look and feel of a motel, you can't beat the convenient location for such decent rates. The motel is within steps of all the shops and restaurants! You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,273 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#31 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Address: 207 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1745
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Villager Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, affordable lodging with modern amenities conveniently located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Bar Harbor Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Villager Motel Bar Harbor
Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Villager Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing