We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/free breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location/free breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the villager on several occasions. Our last visit was in August of 2012. The location to downtown Bar Harbor is very convenient. It is a short walk to the waterfront, shops, and restaurants. The motel is two stories, so we always get a second floor room that faces the pool. The motel has had some recent renovations such as new curtains, bedding, and bathroom fixtures. This is an older motel, but it is clean and offers the basics. Don't expect a fitness room, flat screen tv, or room service. If you want that, you'll pay double to triple the price of the Villager. One amenity that we really appreciate is the free breakfast which is served in an adjacent building. During our last 3 night stay, we enjoyed coffee, juice, muffins, bagels, hard boiled eggs, cereal, and fruit (apples & bananas). There is a toaster for your use. This is more of a continental breakfast, but the food is good and it saves time and money when you want to start your day. Just remember that August is one of the busiest times to stay in Bar Harbor. Other hotel rooms are well over $250 a night,so make reservations early if you want to stay here.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter, facing pool side is better than street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    223
    34
    5
    4
See reviews for
165
213
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We pcked this motel because of its cvlose proximity to shopping and dining and because of parking ease. We were not disappointed. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the styaff was friendly and helpful. Even though located an a busy street it was quiet and we slept well.

The breakfast was as good as many other motels that we stayed in throughout the country and better than some.

We enjoyed our stay and look forward to future stops there. A great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biglerville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Friendly staff, pleasant room made for a great stay! We will stay here again! We could walk to shops, restaurants, and the Shore Path. The motel is just a short drive from Acadia or you can walk uptown and take a LLBean bus. Great, great, location. Well worth the money. Good value!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
187 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had expected a little more of this basic motel especially for the price we paid. The rooms are very outdated and could definitely use an update. The continental breakfast is okay but nothing more. However, the location is fantastic and you can walk to all the shops and restaurants in Bar Harbor. Stay there for the location, if you want more than a very basic motel room then stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MN0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were disappointed right from the beginning! The bottom bed wheel crumbled on one side of the bed when we sat on it (we are not obese) and fell to the floor. We reported the problem to the office person and since there was no one to fix the bed, she gave us five 2"x2" square boards to put under the bed to hold it up. We asked to be moved to another room and she refused us. That night the other bottom bed wheel crumbled. Also, we walked around the room barefoot and with socks, and the bottom of our feet were black and our socks were black we threw them away. The rug probably had never been cleaned. It was gross and disgusting! The only plus to our stay was the motel was one block from town. You really do get what you pay for with this motel. Thank goodness our stay was only 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaitlinMeredith, Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bar Harbor Villager Motel. I remember speaking with my clerk regarding your situation with the bed, and also I remember that we didn't happen to have any other rooms available, which is why we were not able to move you to another room. As far as the carpet, I can assure you that we clean our carpets very regularly, and believe that point was a bit exaggerated. I am always happy to speak to an unhappy guest should an issue arise, and I do my best to ensure a fair resolution to all problems. I only wish I had had the opportunity to speak with you, instead of reading about it on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This is an old-school motor lodge, complete with the plastic chairs outside your room looking out on the parking lot. However, it's in a great location and it's clean. The rooms have decent TV, microwaves and refrigerators. You have free parking and can walk to all of the restaurants and shopping in downtown Bar Harbor. The continental breakfast is not much and the rooms are dated, but overall it's a good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were disappointed when we arrived at Bar Harbor because the "nicer" hotels we had initally chosen were sold out. Our waitress suggested the Villager and we are glad she did. We stayed in the main building where the office is located.The rooms are nothing special (this is a motel) but they are clean and very quiet. The motel was almost sold out (the parking lot was full) but we didn't hear a sound coming from anywhere, and we even had the window open. The location is great because the motel is located right on the main street of Bar Harbor. If you want an inexpensive, clean, quiet place to stay that is extremely convenient to all of the shops, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor was very quiet. I don't know if the 1st floor would be as quiet since the cars wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conniebuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#25 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 40 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Address: 207 Main Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Villager Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, affordable lodging with modern amenities conveniently located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Bar Harbor Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Villager Motel Bar Harbor
Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Villager Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing