We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Location, price”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This hotel is just 1 block from the Village Green, where the buses to Acadia National Park depart. The hotel is clean, the staff are knowledgable and friendly. This is not an upclass hotel, which is reflected in the lower price. If you are looking for a central location where you can walk to everything in Bar Harbor this is an excellent choice. We stayed for 3 days of biking in Acadia, and never started the car for those 3 days.

Room Tip: Book directly, the websites were $10 more per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remickd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    257
    46
    5
    4
See reviews for
185
266
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed 1 night end July 2011. The hotel is clean, complementary bathroom supplies, coffee/tea, staff is very helpfull and friendly. Perfect location, in the center and 2 minutes walk from the village green where the Island Explorer (Acadia park shuttle busses) depart from and there is a little swimming pool too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theackzer3547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Clean,comfortable,pleasant staff,great location,reasonable rates.Coffee and pastries were provided in lobby.Fresh pastries and fruit would have been nice,but I would still go again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave16212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This place has the same bedding as when my parents brought me here 25 yrs ago; it is extremely outdated; rooms were not very clean; and it is way overpriced for what it is. It maybe close to downtown but it would be worth it to pay the extra $$$ and stay in others that are just as close to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodtripgonebad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaitlinMeredith, Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on the Bar Harbor Villager Motel! I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Most of our guests find that the motel is just what they need - a clean, convenient, comfortable place to rest their head after exploring Acadia National Park. We have made many improvements and updates to the rooms over the past 2 years, including adding mini fridges, larger tvs, coffeemakers, hairdryers, clock radios, and iron/ironing board combos to the rooms. The rooms did not have these amenities 25 years ago. In terms of bedding, we replace the sheets and pillows frequently. While the patterns of the bedspreads might not be the most up-to-date, we continue to use them as long as they remain in good condition. We plan to continue gradually updating the rooms and property, and have many exciting changes planned for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Rooms were very clean; front desk personnel efficient and helpful. Great location - walking distance to center of town. Ample parking

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Villager from August 10 thru 12. Great little place to stay. Friendly staff, clean rooms, convenient to town and buses. Nothing fancy but that was ok with us. Was nice having a refrigerator. Could not get internet to work on laptop but did go to the office and get them to print our boarding passes. My iphone worked fine "AT&T service".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed for three nights and never moved our car. Walked to EVERY
THING!!!

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi, make sure you mention it to the staff when you reserve your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSBG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,638 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Address: 207 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1745
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Villager Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, affordable lodging with modern amenities conveniently located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Bar Harbor Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Villager Motel Bar Harbor
Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Villager Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing