We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is only positive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of ANCHORAGE MOTEL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
171 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Location is only positive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

Looking for a one night stay in Bar Harbor on Labor Day weekend so that is a problem, many places have a 2 night minimum. Found this motel for $140 which was cheap for the area. Room really tired. Came back from dinner and large group of bikers sitting in lawn chairs under tree, they were old and gentle however, but a surprise none the less. Wish we had paid more for something better. Very close to town and able to walk for dinner and shore walk the next morning so that's the good thing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    41
    57
    21
    28
See reviews for
44
67
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We could not get reservations anywhere in town (Bar Harbor), so we chose to stay at the Anchorage Motel. The place has dated decor (wood paneling, etc.), but I must say that our room was spotlessly clean, enough towels and wash cloths, etc. Plenty of ice in the ice machine and ice buckets. We were on the first floor and the air-conditioning, etc. worked perfectly. The bathroom was clean, no sign mold or dirt. We brought extra pillows from home (as recommended by a previous reviewer) and that made our bed and sleep more comfortable. The Motel is in a great location, within walking distance of Cafe This Way (and any other place in town) where we had an excellent breakfast the first morning visiting the area. The motel is recommended for it's price and local.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We had carpentar ants, called management. We were told there was nothing they could do tonight. The next morning we were told that we made more of a big deal out of this than it was. Tried to get out of second night or some type of compensation nothing was done. Would not recommend this place and it wasnt cheap

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbVdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

The only nice thing I can say about this place is that it is very convenient - just a block or two from the heart of the village. The compliments end there. If you are on a budget, want an in-town location, aren't fussy about cleanliness or comfort, don't mind waking up to the sounds of the guests in the rooms next to and above you, and don't plan to be at the motel much, this may be the place for you. Otherwise, you'd be better off staying slightly outside of town at a cleaner & more comfortable place & taking the shuttle in - or skip the motel altogether & stay at a campground instead.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank haskelles117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We booked our stay over the Internet last minute,even though trip advisor ratings where not flattering we where limited due to availibity. The Desk person was pleasant and helpful,he gave us directions to a dinner spot and shopping. The room was dated but clean but we where shocked to have no hot water in the morning,we stayed later and finally the hot water came back long enough to have our showers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nosnow58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is basic and clean, just what we wanted. If you're looking at prices in the area you see they are very high. This hotel is inexpensive compared to others in the area. The staff is super nice and helpful. The location is superb. If you want basic, clean, and to save a few bucks this is the perfect motel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjt1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The room was not clean. There was mould on the faucet and on the curtin of the bathroom. Discosting pillow and very dated furniture.
Great location but for the price you can get a much more better place to stay.
I will never come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank md13032914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#29 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANCHORAGE MOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANCHORAGE MOTEL

Property: ANCHORAGE MOTEL
Address: 51 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ANCHORAGE MOTEL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your ANCHORAGE MOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Hotel Bar Harbor
ANCHORAGE MOTEL Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing