We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour of Acadia National Park”

Acadia National Park Tours
Ranked #10 of 43 Tours in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Acadia National Park Tours specializes in fully narrated bus tours of Acadia National Park. Trips are offered daily at 10:00 AM and 2:00 PM. Tours depart from Testa's Restaurant, 53 Main Street, in downtown Bar Harbor. Tour price is $27.50 per adult and $15.00 for children 12 and under. All tours are 2.5 hours in duration and feature stops throughout Acadia National Park include the summit of Cadillac Mountain and Thunder Hole.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Cleveland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great tour of Acadia National Park”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked this tour of the park on our own, it was half the price of the shore excursion offered by Royal Caribbean. Nothing like saving money and getting a wonderful tour all in one, and it's family owned since 1955. Our guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable of the area. She told us stories along with explaining what we were seeing as we drove by. Loved the story of the stranded cars (from Ohio no less) on the sand bar! We were lucky and had great weather so we were able to go up Cadillac Mountain. It was chilly, bring a jacket at this time of year, but the views were breathtaking. My photos didn't do it justice. We stopped at Thunder Hole which was spectacular also. The entire park was more than I thought it would be, just beautiful. I can only imagine it in full fall color. I would highly recommend Acadia National Park tours, esp, if you are arriving on a cruise as I did. You get a great overview of this wonderful national park and taking the 10am tour gives you plenty of time in Bar Harbor (or as the cute little tshirt with sheep said-baa haa baa) to shop and grab a local lunch before heading back to your ship. Great tour, great guides, great prices. You can't go wrong!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieNoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    60
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Bridgton, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic visit with friends”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were travelling with two other couples; one couple who has been to the park many times and another visiting from Michigan. Visited the park many times during the week and from Cadillac Mountain to Sand Beach - what a wonderful time was had. One of the many treasures to visit in Maine.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Will visit again, real soon!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I hadn't realized what we've been missing all these years. Granted, going during the Summer time was a bit crowded and the traffic was a little discouraging, but oh was the wait well worth it. The auto loop trail was a very nice easy ride and the short two mile walking trail along the road, was very easy to traverse with great views along the way. Everyone should stop and park at Sandy Beach to start their walk and enjoy the views from every vantage point. Along the way, you will encounter Thunder Hole, this is a great natural wonder and if you are lucky enough to encounter this during high tide, you will be wowed and amazed by the force and beauty of this awesome site. If you plan on being in the area for several days, you should visit and explore this area for at least two-three days, you will need it. Oh, I almost forgot the most spectacular feature, Cadillac Mountain. What a fantastic view of the harbor from here! On a clear day, you can see countless islands from the peak of the mountain. I don't know what else to say, other than we'll be going back this Autumn to check it out again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pristine”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Loved the contrast between coastline and mountains. Park was wonderfull, clean, and a real tribute to the people who donated the land to the park service. The park staff was friendly and helpfull a credit to the park service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great tour company Ollies Trolley Tour”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The driver / tour guide was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. He didn't skip a beat with joking with the people on the tour as well as giving detailed information for what we saw along the way.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acadia National Park Tours also viewed

 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Acadia National Park Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing