We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Hanscom's Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is such a nice place to visit on such an incredible island in Maine. This hotel is conveniently located just a few miles away from the town of Bar Harbor, and is even closer to Acadia national park (One of the nicest places I've ever visited).

Room Tip: Aim for the beginning/end of the tourist season. There may be fewer attractions open at that time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very Clean and Very Friendly! Updated rooms are very comfortable and lobsters delivered right to our fridge! Really enjoyed our stay here and we're already looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bannutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I and our two Great Danes stayed here in early July. The location is very convenient to Bar Harbor and the National Park, and the owners are very dog friendly. This is a rare combination, especially for large dog owners. We will recommend Hanscom's to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cbowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Went there for three night with our daughter who is 3 years old. We were going to take our dog, so was looking for a pet friendly place. We didn't end up taking our dog. We stayed at Rm #9. Had a queen size bed, and pull out. The place was nice and clean except they forgot to empty out the trashcan before we got there. Otherwise it WAS clean. The rooms didn't not smell like dogs which I heard can be issues with places that allows pets. Didn't actually meet the owners since they were not at the office, may be due to being off season. But actually never rellay needed them. The room was adequate, big enough for all three of us. Love the fact that I had little kitchenette in the room, so made breakfast every morning. I love the free internet which we had no issues with it. Flat screen TV was nice also. Walked to their 'private beach' which is about 10 min walk. It is rocky so you do need a sturdy pair of shoes but really didn't have too much issue for me (I am 8month pregnant) and my 3 year old daughter. Place is a bit of drive from everything, meaning not walking distance to the town or the park, but I liked the fact that I wasn't in the middle of everything. I will probably return back to this plae again when I visit Bar Harbor again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank mjczoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I found Hanscom's while searching for a pet-friendly place to stay in the greater Bar Harbor area this spring. My husband & I were accompanying our son (and his pup) as he was looking for housing before he moves up to his next USCG assignment in a few months. We rented two motel units and were very pleased with the rooms. The kitchenettes are obviously new; they include an electric cooktop, microwave, small refrigerator, a small sink w/plenty of counter space & cupboards, and a small table with stools - all separate from the sleeping area. Hanscom's is a rare find these days - clean, very accommodating regarding pets, and their rates aren't unreasonable for many of us who usually find it prohibitive to travel and stay somewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RVRSWMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

When we booked it they didn't have a cottage available and they offer us a unit. We really like it, it was very cozy and clean.
The only negative part was that the bathroom didn't have a heater and it was a little bit cold.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We rented two "cabins" side by side for our family. It worked out nicely. Having the kitchens was great. The cabins are smallish, but don't feel like they are. They use the space really well. We enjoyed our stay. Don't expect a fancy place, but a comfortable practicle nice CLEAN place. Best price we found in Bar Harbor! We would recommend this place to our friends and families.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaineMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.9 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 40 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#17 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
3.2 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanscom's Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

Property: Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
Address: 273 ME-3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#24 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hanscom`s Motel And Cottages
Hanscom`s Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscoms Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing