We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mainely Meat and Udderly Heaven is Where the Locals Get a Sandwich”

Mainely Meat Barbeque
Ranked #28 of 153 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived into town late in the afternoon starving and tried to find parking downtown Bar Harbor without luck, so we returned back to our hotel and met a staff member of the Bluenose Inn. The gentleman said, well, you can try where all the locals eat, Mainely Meat. Voila, we had a solution.

Not knowing what to expect, we found they offered a pulled pork sandwich with fries. When asked, "How much goop do you put on the barbecue?" we were told, "We marinate it but don't put on any barbecue sauce, you can use one of the barbecue sauces on your sandwich." and they pointed to two different types, one looking like mustard and one looking like a traditional barbecue sauce. We both skipped the sauce; the meat was tender, somewhat garlicky with a noticeable black pepper taste.

The meal was simple and good. A dessert of one angelic scoop of cherry vanilla from Udder Heaven seemed more like a sinner scoop (they come in three sizes, angelic, saintly and sinner) and was tasty and fresh.

The service is very quick and since its a quite small place very attentive. Beer (Stella Artois) and diet coke and refills came quickly as did the bill when requested.

The restaurant is decidedly down scale--picnic tables almost.

Restrooms were clean and fresh.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sfharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 447 of 618 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

The BBQ was terrific but the blueberry pancakes were outrageous. The restaurant, on the main highway in and out of town was near the house we rented. We became regulars. The service was excellent and we couldn't be happier.
Great place for families connected to the ice cream parlor.

Date of visit: July 2013
Thank reddvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Found the brewery and barbeque while driving around Acadia NP, stopped in for a late lunch. Pulled pork sandwiches were great, as were the Atlantic Brewery beers. Skipped the brewery tour -- just too many people.
Good beers.

Date of visit: August 2013
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was really the place to eat. Lobster, pork, chicken, beef; cooked well and cooked tasty. Friendly staff and very good service. The kids ate, the adults ate and the price was well worth every piece of Mainely Meat we ordered

Date of visit: August 2013
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I'm from the South. I grew up with BBQ in the blood. This place was just not good. The sauce tasted like they used entirely too much maple syrup. The ribs had very little meat and were barely recognizable. The pulled pork was OK and the chicken was actually pretty good. My husband loves baked beans, but didn't like theirs (I generally don't like baked beans but found theirs pretty palatable). I can't speak to the coleslaw but it didn't look appetizing.

So the food was just not good.

But.....

I loved the atmosphere. Fully outdoor seating. Very casual. Right next to the brewery with more beers available than you get at the brewery tasting. The local musician playing on Sunday afternoon was also very good and we had friendly service.

We had a nice time, but the food was just not good. I think the problem is cooking too fast on too high of a temp. This would explain why the chicken was good but the ribs miserable (probably the worst ribs I've ever had).

Remember....BBQ is supposed to be slooooooooowwwwww.......

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank claryqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainely Meat Barbeque also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Mainely Meat Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing