We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think they forgot they were a restaurant”

The Log Cabin Restaurant
Ranked #70 of 148 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Description: TEMPORARILY CLOSED - The Log Cabin Restaurant is a wonderful family owned Seafood & Steak restaurant that has been in continuous operation since 1984. The original owners who built the restaurant are now back and running the family operation. Great for families and large groups. Our dining rooms offer a very comfortable Maine experience with a classic Maine décor. We also have an absolutely wonderful Country Store filled with products made in Maine and New England. We hope you come to visit and dine with us. Greetings from the entire Hansen Family!
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Think they forgot they were a restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

When we had gone here for breakfast, it took forever to get waited on and served. Had to keep bugging the waitress about our order, unless it has changed recently, don't waste your money or time.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaineFlatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    94
    80
    45
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine
1 review
“Contaminated Food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am a local who works in Bar Harbor and have sent many many guests to this restaurant. I Called them this evening to order two salads with Blue Cheese Dressing and I wasn't able to finish them for I had gotten VERY sick. Of course I got sick at work.... I called the restaraunt to ask them to check the expiration date of the dressing and got the comment of, "Blue cheese dressing never goes bad and all of our food is very fresh". He didn't even bother to look. I would like a refund and will never send another guest there again. And believe me, working at a hotel, I have sent over 350 guests there in a season.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just far enough away to attract the locals”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We attended an alumni group dinner on the island, but just far enough away from Bar Harbor for us locals to enjoy it. The atmosphere is very appropriate for the Acadia area...a little bit country...you know the rest. The service was outstanding. Although limited personnel, all questions were answered to our satisfaction. We were given plenty of time to decide on our meals and didn't feel at all rushed after dinner and were able to chat comfortably. The meals we ordered ranged from seafood to pulled pork to steaks, All must have been to everybody's liking, due to the sudden lack of conversation around the table, except for the various comments of how good their meal tasted.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good burger and service, but overall just ok.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had lunch at the Log Cabin Restaurant today. My wife ordered the pull-pork BBQ sandwich. I tried a bite and it confirmed my policy of not ordering BBQ north of the Mason-Dixon and possibly not north of North Carolina and Tennessee. It was ok, but the meat was a little too dry and not as tender as I like. I had the chilli burger and it was excellent. The beef was superior and their chili is exceptional. I ordered a side of fries and they were disappointing. The flavor was good and the potato freshly cut, but they were too limp for my taste. The service was very good. The atomosphere is what I guess you could call "Northwoods Country". Country music ala Hank Jr. and Charlie Daniels played continuously. The decor is blond log cabin and the establishment is very clean.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ml W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Cheapest lobster dinner in town”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just after Labor Day, the Log Cabin was advertising a $12.99 lobster dinner. They came through with a properly cooked, good-sized lobster, excellent baked potato (not cooked in aluminum foil for a change, which I appreciated) and tender, tasty ear of corn. There was other stuff on the menu, but we came to Maine for the lobster! The staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Log Cabin Restaurant also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Log Cabin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing