We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Goodness”

Morning Glory Bakery
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quaint Goodness”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We walked around the corner to this bakery after our meal at the Thirsty Whale. I enjoyed a large chocolate chip cookie and on the suggestion of the behind the counter girl, my husband got the cheesecake brownie. The brownie was much better once zapped for a few seconds in the microwave to allowed the chocolate goodness to melt just a little with the cheesecake and my cookie was just fine as is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank partners1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    84
    34
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very popular!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are a lot of bakery choices and this one had a line out the door before it opened. I went back later and purchased several baked goods. They were all delicious!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ekehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“walk past other bakeries to get there”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have a horrible weakness for awful restaurants on main streets that have red signs. There, I said it. I admitted it. My wife always does her research. When we visit a new place, she typically reads four guide books before we get there. So this morning, while she slept, I walked past the lousy bakery next door with the red sign, past the sub standard bakery with the yellow sign, off the main street, off the beaten path and arrived at Morning Glory three minutes before they opened at 7:00 am. Five people arrived after me. As the doors opened, I was overwhelmed by freshly baked items and hardworking young people who look like they just arrived from a healthy living commune. The service was prompt and the blueberry muffin was spectacular. Slightly crunchy on the outside with blueberries that burst with fresh flavor on the inside. Clearly, these muffins were made from scratch. It's a glorious way to start your day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jojothedogfaceboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Coffee & Bagels”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Visiting Bar Harbor and found what I would think is the "local's" bakery. Delicious bagels, and the coffee was great, not weak as is the case in so many places. We went back for bread and bagels to bring home, and a cookie for the ride!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C-M-H_9-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cupcakes and pie oh my!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My mother-in-law's birthday was celebrated in Bar Harbor and so we got cupcakes at this bakery. The cake was pretty good, but the icing was heavenly. Chocolate with some coffee in it. The pie was excellent and we decided was 2nd place after West Street Cafe. Try them both!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Glory Bakery also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Morning Glory Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing