We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, original sandwiches”
Review of Mother's Kitchen

Mother's Kitchen
Ranked #67 of 146 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Restaurant details
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great, original sandwiches”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Mother's Kitchen was one of my best discoveries while spending some days in Mt. Desert Island (summer 2013). Brought there by someone who knew well the place, I was delighted by the flavor of the sandwiches and especially by their original recipes!

Absolutely recommended if you happen to be around - and you love sandwiches. They're all you can have here but, believe me, they're just great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabio_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A perennial favorite”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stay at Seaside Cottages across the street from here every year, so quite often treat ourselves to the sandwiches at Mother's Kitchen. It takes a while for your sandwich to be made, but it's always worth the wait. Haven't tried the breakfast sandwiches yet, but intend to. Next time!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken_Blanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches in Maine!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite place to get lunch in the summer, and we look forward to their opening day every spring. It's definitely a good idea to phone your order in if you're in a hurry.

Helpful?
Thank maria_and_carrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Imaginative sandwiches with excellent ingredients”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

No matter what you choose you probably have never had a sandwich quite like it. My favorite is the meatloaf sandwich which I think is called the grandpa Jack

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanker363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bar harbor
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“super cute food shack!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

nice and simple, fresh food cooked in a tiny shack in a garden. everything made to order, don't be in a hurry... grab a drink and enjoy the sun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ted a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Kitchen also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Mother's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing