We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful Inn in Bar Harbor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balance Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balance Rock Inn
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn in Bar Harbor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We only stayed one night at the Balance Rock but would have loved to have stayed longer. We had no reservations and the only room they had left was one of the large suites and they were nice enough to give us a very good deal on it. Our suite had its own private deck that led out to the pool and the view was fantastic! We enjoyed cocktails on the patio and had a fabulous dinner nearby. The pool and the grounds are lovely and it seemed like a perfect place to stay in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    92
    32
    24
    5
See reviews for
50
294
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Carrollton, Ky
Level Contributor
276 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place to relax. Right on the water. Bar area is like a wonderful screened/glassed porch with wicker furniture. So inviting. Pretty flowers by the pool & wonderful seating on the patio, including a welcomed fire pit. Best crab cakes ever! Tasty & interesting blueberry martini. Splurge & stay here. So very glad we were served by bartender Harry. He's great.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My wife and I found the resort to be top notch. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the décor unique and pristine and the location unbeatable. Can't imagine I'd stay anywhere else next time

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gregg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Wife and I stayed here in late August right before Labor Day for five nights. Really enjoyed it. The location simply cannot be beat since you are about a three minute slow walk to the Bar Harbor downtown, the property backs up to the Bar Harbor Shore Path and it looks out into the beautiful water.

Couple of things we would like to know before we went...sometimes cruise ships anchor in the harbor and those will be in your view. Apparently the cruise industry is quite heavy for the Fall colors but we only had one day when a ship was anchored out there. That is not a knock on Balance Rock Inn at all since those ships will be visible no matter where you stay if you can see the water.

We stayed in the Carriage House in Room 114. Nice room. Plenty of space. They had a Select Comfort bed which sounds like a jet engine when you adjust it but I'm pretty sure that is what they sound like. Both my wife and had a little trouble adjusting to the bed but that it probably just us and perhaps other will find the beds perfectly comfortable.

The last thing is the pool does get a little "dirty" with leaves. I didn't have any problem with that and they do skim the leaves during the day but my wife would not go in unless it had been skimmed and that seemed to be the preference of the other women by the pool.

Bottom Line: When we go back to Bar Harbor, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed for early in the season and we had the best time. The room was just what we were looking for and had a great view of the ocean. It is tucked away, yet still just a short walk into the center of Bar Harbor. Great to see what the owners and staff are doing with the hotel. They couldn't have been more accommodating and pleasant making our long weekend truly spectacular. (Just a note that it is definitely a quiet spot for adults and wouldn't recommend bringing the kids along)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This location is unbeatable. Walk to everything and have a beautiful pool overlooking a lush lawn and then the ocean.
The staff was very attentive. Lovely fire pit at the cocktail lounge in the evening.
Dinner options at the hotel are limited to small plates and two entrees a night. We ate there one night. The service was slow, but the atmosphere so lovely that we did not care.
We stayed in the Carriage House. Our room was one of the cheapest on the property. No view and a drab deck facing a fence on the property. This was more than made up for by the public spaces. I would stay in the Carriage House again for about 60% of the price of the rooms in the main building.
One oddity of the hotel is that they allow dogs. Each evening there was at least one couple with a dog on the patio for cocktails. Never a problem.
This is my fourth trip to Bar Harbor and by far my favorite hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annabelle020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay again.

Location - unbeatable location. Fantastic view and a five minute walk into the town, either along the sea front or up the road leading to the Inn, yet still very quiet and peaceful. Having viewed the location of other accommodation in the area I am convinced that there is no better location in Bar Harbor.

Staff - very friendly and helpful. Edwin and the gentleman who sat at reception and also acted as concierge, whose name I did not get, stood out.

Rooms - I think we stayed in 408. Situated at the top of the building it had a balcony and great views. Whilst there is a lift that takes you to the third floor, a final flight of stairs to the fourth floor means that this room would not be suitable for a disabled person. Very roomy. Very good (and free) wi-fi internet access. Whilst the accommodation was more than satisfactory, some remedial work is necessary - some broken blinds need fixing, the couch that doubles as a fold away bed is not really any longer fit for purpose as one can feel the springs when lying on it, which the children remedied by strategically placing cushions when it came time to sleep. Bathroom is a bit dated. All in all, I think it fair to state that the time has come for refurbishment of the room.

Food - we ate out for dinner, but found breakfast to be very good, with a choice of sitting indoors or outdoors, which was nice

Grounds - very well kept, nice swimming pool and patio area.

Ambience - old worldly and tranquil.

So, in conclusion, a beautiful view and helpful staff, which were not detracted from by some remedial work required in our room. We look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: There are many stairs in the Inn. If you are disabled be sure to choose a room that has suitable acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haydndavies2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 40 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Rock Inn

Property: Balance Rock Inn
Address: 21 Albert Meadows, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balance Rock Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance Rock Inn is one of the premier oceanfront lodging properties in Bar Harbor, ME. Set on a secluded tree-covered property with expansive views of Frenchman's Bay, this luxurious Inn's name celebrates the "balance rock," a precariously positioned boulder on the nearby ocean shore, a huge remnant from an ice age. Balance Rock's 27 rooms and suites are tastefully outfitted in harmonious colors, handsome wall coverings, handcrafted furnishings, and all the creature comforts. All rooms and suites have either a king or queen size select comfort bed, a private bath, flat screen television with DVD player, WIFI internet access, individually controlled AC and heat, and most with amazing ocean views! The Inn features a full bar and restaurant, sundeck with fire pit, and heated swimming pool...all overlooking the ocean. In addition there is a formal dining room for breakfast and dinner, a small fitness center, and ample parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balance Rock Hotel Bar Harbor
Balance Rock Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing