We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OPULENT HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balance Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balance Rock Inn
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock. Ont. Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OPULENT HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at Balance Rock Inn in May and from the moment we entered the Inn we were swept away by the breath taking views. Our room (305) was small but beautifully decorated and we enjoyed being able to sit on our private balcony and look out over the pool, manicured lawns and Frenchmen's Bay. After dinner drinks on the deck around the fire pit and breakfast on the verandah were a special treat. Staff were both attentive and helpful.
We are already planning our return next year.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are smaller but quieter with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julianna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    98
    35
    27
    6
See reviews for
58
315
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is is a hidden gem. Great location and great views. Nice place to lounge around and take in the views. In the evening after a fun filled day, you can ordfer up a cocktail and sit around the fire pit and chill out. I would stay in the main building rather than the cottages. The breakfast is very good as well. We were never rushed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taster152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

You will have to look hard to find a more beautiful view. The Balance Rock Inn was built in 1903, and is full of character and history. The views are unsurpassed and I was quite content just to hang out on the porch or outdoor area and watch the water. The staff are very helpful, and my room on the 3rd floor had a balcony looking out on the water. In busy times of the year, your balcony may not be private however. This old lady is showing her age and could use some updating and repairs. There was chipping paint in the lobby, and the decor in general is very dated. It is very close to town and a beautiful walk to look through the local shops. Breakfast can be eaten outdoors, the enclosed sun porch, or the dining room. There is even rooftop viewing for the best views. Evening happy hour is offered with nuts, cheese, crackers (complimentary) and wine/liquor available for purchase.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serengeti07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it's always appreciated! We agree our view is hard to beat! The Inn is certainly an old lady, she was built in 1903 and we do our best to keep up with the repairs and maintenance of our plaster walls. We encourage all guests to share with us anything we can approve upon. We hope we are able to exceed your expectations your next visit. Again, thank you for your input and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I were dissatisfied with the small hotel we had chosen in Bar Harbor - a once beautiful place we had been to, years ago. Scouting around we found the Balance Rock Inn and enquired about a room. The very friendly staff offered us the "last" room they had - high season being what it is on the coast... Wow! Canopy bed, wonderful comfort, warm design and decor. A lover's delight. Good food, great view from the breakfast room to the nearby seaside. Like another review wrote, Balance Rock Inn is like a distinguished and inspiring older lady. Expensive, but worth every dollar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chovinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed a few nights in July 2012 and August 2011, both stays were perfect with no complaints. The staff is always very helpful, the inn is quite and a five minute walk to the main bar harbor area & serves a very nice breakfast in the morning. Located in the back of the inn is the bar/lounge area and pool with nice views of the ocean were you can walk down to walk along the shore path.

Room Tip: they have the majority of their rooms displayed on their website in detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmith, NH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We could not have dreamed of a better place to stay. Balance Rock Inn is located in the most beautiful setting on the bay. The inn is clean and comfortable and the mattress was like sleeping on a cloud. The breakfast was amazing - sitting at a table overlooking the pool and watching the boats leave the harbor. The location is close to town and the shops and restaurants and a short drive to Acadia National Park. We will definately return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at The Balanced Rock Inn recently and were pretty pleased with our choice. The Inn is a gracious old lady in a wonderful location, situated on the shoreline with a wonderful view of the Porcupine Island and Frenchman's Bay, and just far enough away (an easy walk) from the touristy shops on Main Street.
We had room 209 which turned out to be an enormous suite, complete with a full kitchen and living room. It was rather strangely laid out but enjoyed a lovely water view from the living room.
We spent our four days exploring Desert Island and wandering through the lovely Acadia National Park- a true natural wonder.
All of the staff were very friendly, helpful and keen to show their knowledge of local events and restaurants to help us get the most from our stay.The jacuzzi in the bathroom was a plus after several long hikes, overall it was a very pleasant stay.
The only downside? Well, old buildings have wooden floors which can make evenings a little noisy if the upstairs neighbors are active; and although breakfast was included $375 a night was a little pricey.

Room Tip: Top floor would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rr1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Rock Inn

Property: Balance Rock Inn
Address: 21 Albert Mdws, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balance Rock Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance Rock Inn is one of the premier oceanfront lodging properties in Bar Harbor, ME. Set on a secluded tree-covered property with expansive views of Frenchman's Bay, this luxurious Inn's name celebrates the "balance rock," a precariously positioned boulder on the nearby ocean shore, a huge remnant from an ice age. Balance Rock's 27 rooms and suites are tastefully outfitted in harmonious colors, handsome wall coverings, handcrafted furnishings, and all the creature comforts. All rooms and suites have either a king or queen size select comfort bed, a private bath, flat screen television with DVD player, WIFI internet access, individually controlled AC and heat, and most with amazing ocean views! The Inn features a full bar and restaurant, sundeck with fire pit, and heated swimming pool...all overlooking the ocean. In addition there is a formal dining room for breakfast and dinner, a small fitness center, and ample parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balance Rock Hotel Bar Harbor
Balance Rock Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing